Computer running unusually slow.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2004, 08:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4
Default Computer running unusually slow....

My computer was running really slow so I decided to re-format it so that I could get all the junk off and have it running smooth again just like when I purchased it. So I formatted it, re-installed Windows 2000 Pro which I had to do before installing Windows XP Pro. I then continued installing Windows XP Pro. No errors occured that I know of.

Unfortunatly My computer Is still running slow and I figured that maybe my ram (512 at the time) had lost some of it's performance. How I don't know. I decided to get another 512 ram to boost my performance (which it did slightly) and enable me to play some of the future games like Far Cry and Half Life 2.

The problem I am having though is that I can't run that many applications without the computer straining. Everytime I install the Soundblaster Live drivers the music I am playing through Winamp/MediaPlayer pops, skips, and actually slows down.....WEIRD. Even without the drivers installed I still get weird problems.

In Battlefield/Desert Combat with video settings on Medium I still skip a lot when to much is going on on screen. It's almost like experience lag on older games...even though I have 30ping at the time.

Another error is that for instance when playing an mp3 and then go to open a simple program like Internet Explorer, the song will actually skip and shudder untill the application has finished opening.

Basically my Games arn't running like they should do (video quality wise) and my audio kepps skipping when working with other applications.

I know my system specs are more than qualified to perform these functions without any hiccups..

Please HELP! Thanks a lot.......much appreciated.

I have:

Pentium 4 1.7Ghz
Radeon 9600 Pro
Creative Soundblaster Live
Windows XP Pro
1GB RAMBUS PC-800:RIMM Ram
AOPEN AX4T Socket 423 Motherboard.
__________________

brownstone_mr is offline  
Old 02-11-2004, 08:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

see if your inner case , cpu , chipset temperatures are getting
higher than normal . Do you have any way to test your PS to make sure its still putting out the correct voltages ?
If you have the option in BIOS set your memory speed up to turbo.
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 02-11-2004, 09:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for replying. The only 'Turbo' settings I found in CMOS settings setup was for "Load Turbo Defaults' which I switched to Yes. It doesn't to have appeared to help.

I dont know of away to test my powersource voltage or how to test temperatures unfortunatly.
brownstone_mr is offline  
Old 02-11-2004, 10:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

Did you load your motherboard driver's.Your processor driver should always be loaded first.
Did you load up current Video and sound card and run through window's update.Sp1 and directx9b
Deadguy is offline  
Old 02-13-2004, 06:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

go to Comp USA or Best Buy etc.. They have a Power supply testing tool that will help you .I think it cost $10.00
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 02-13-2004, 06:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 116
Default

Did you check that all your drivers are up to date? Does the properties in My Computer show the right amount of RAM, that you have installed?
Also have you gotten rid of all your spy ware???
And finally how much of your hard drive is full? How much space is left?
__________________

__________________
Walking in the dark
Meck is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.