Computer running slow! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2005, 01:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 116
Send a message via AIM to B34ST1Y
Default Computer running slow!

Hey, I recently bought a new Motherboard with a 64 bit AMD processor 2800+ . I have 512 mb of DDR ram...and its still running a little slow. Any ideas on WHY this is ? oh and another thing...will running the new XP 64 bit edition help run faster? will windows Os run faster?
__________________

B34ST1Y is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 01:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

You set the jumpers properly ?
__________________

__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 01:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

You set the jumpers properly ? And what do you mean "it's running slow" ?
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 01:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 116
Send a message via AIM to B34ST1Y
Default

I used the original jumper configs that came straight out of the box....and I mean...like...it has "periods" where it will just...be really slow...but task manager shows a commit charge of 95mb and 0% cpu usage...
__________________
Minneapolis Computer Repair http://altrepair.com
B34ST1Y is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 03:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

Maybe you are expecting more speed from your machine but its already running as fast as it can and you don’t thinks its fast enough.
This might be the problem but i dough it.

First of all try defrag your drives if this doesn’t work check your chipset drivers are installed and all your other driver like for you video card and stuff if this doesn’t work i don’t know then.

Also windows 64 Bit edition is only out in the beta version and doesn’t really make any difference at all its even slower so i say just stick with windows XP.

Neosteve
__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 03:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

What motherboard are u using? Also windows 64 bit is only in beta stage now , there are hardly any drivers avaliable for it. So don't use it.

Check in your bios that your cpu is running at the right speeds i think its 9 ratio x 200fsb
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.