Computer restarts - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-23-2005, 08:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Default Computer restarts

ok today I went on the computer and it was all normal then I shut it off a few hours later I go back on and it starts up but completly nothing shows up on my desktop except for the wallpaper. I restart a few times and still, nothing shows up. So I turn is back off and a few hours later I try again but this time when I start it up it doesn't even want to boot all the way. What happens is that the Vaio logo shows and then the sign that says pentium four procesor comes up to but after that it just restarts itself over again. I tired to put it on in safe mode but it doesn't work I also tried putting in the Windows XP but it doesn't boot with that either. I kept trying but the same thing just happes over and over again. Would you happen to know whats wrong with it?
__________________

pinkxvenom is offline  
Old 03-23-2005, 08:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Well, in order to boot from the CD you have to go into the setup and make sure that the CD ROM drive is the first in the boot sequence. Then you have to wait to where it says to press any key to boot from CD. I would try running the repair utility once in there.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 03-23-2005, 09:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Default

still wont work...
I also niticed that right when its about to get to the windows xp logo screen with that bar and all... the floppy drive light flashes... and then it just restarts over again...

do you think its a hardware problem or a virus?
pinkxvenom is offline  
Old 03-23-2005, 09:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Default

wait no..
ok
i fixed it.....
by....
pressing.....
f10......
pinkxvenom is offline  
Old 03-23-2005, 09:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

By pressing F10? Be a little more specific. Hitting F10 int like flicking a switch from the broken position to the fixed position. Where you in setup and were not able to save your changes? And you hit F10 to save, whhc is the common save key for most BIOS'.
Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.