Computer restarting itself automaticly - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2005, 06:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 7
Unhappy Computer restarting itself automaticly

This is really weird, I got windows xp sp2. I go to shut down and everything shuts down and turns off. Then 2 to 60 seconds later it starts itself right back up again without me doing anything. The only thing I can think of it being is a problem with the power supply or motherboard. Can anyone help me out with this? Thanx

My specs:

Vantec sealth 520w
Asus P5AD2 Premium
P4 560 Precott 3.6ghz
OCZ PC2 4300 (DDR2 533mhz) 1gig (2x512) CAS 4-3-3-12
ATI X850 XT PE
WD Raptor 74Gig SATA HDD
Lite-On DVD CD-WR Combo drive
__________________

acpmadness is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 06:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

it could be the PSU, as its not a quality one. XP has a feature that causes it to auto restart when something goes wrong. this can be bad, as u wont see the blue screen of death to tell u the problem. Go to system properties, go to advanced, look for startup and recovery and click on settings. uner system failure, uncheck the box next to auto restart. then when u get ur blue screen of death, copy and paste what it says here.
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 06:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Also, I have that same mobo. There is an option in the BIOS about what to do after power loss (restart or stay off). Go to:
Power menu->APM Configuritation and make sure "Restore on AC Power Loss" is set to [Power Off].

Overall, I would have to guess the root of the problem is the PSU.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 06:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 241
Default

also check in there to se if you have Power on Keyboard, or Wake On Lan possibly enabled, those would trigger the Power On the same way (if enabled disable those)
__________________
If all you can see is Darkness Within the Light, You are blind to this world.
http://img25.exs.cx/img25/7382/blade4ls.gifhttp://img222.exs.cx/img222/1324/z1irvineshksvan6uv.gif
ShadowFalls is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 06:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dhw200
it could be the PSU, as its not a quality one. XP has a feature that causes it to auto restart when something goes wrong. this can be bad, as u wont see the blue screen of death to tell u the problem. Go to system properties, go to advanced, look for startup and recovery and click on settings. uner system failure, uncheck the box next to auto restart. then when u get ur blue screen of death, copy and paste what it says here.
OK, I did that and it started right back up after shutting down with NO blue screen error.

Quote:
Also, I have that same mobo. There is an option in the BIOS about what to do after power loss (restart or stay off). Go to:
Power menu->APM Configuritation and make sure "Restore on AC Power Loss" is set to [Power Off].
It is set on off, so I guess that's not it.
acpmadness is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 06:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ShadowFalls
also check in there to se if you have Power on Keyboard, or Wake On Lan possibly enabled, those would trigger the Power On the same way (if enabled disable those)
Their all disabled. Still did it.
acpmadness is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 06:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

whats the blue screen error....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 07:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Sorry, typo.
acpmadness is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 07:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

blue screen of death. its ur PSU then. that is a demanding system that u r running. u need a quality power supply. try this Antec True 480 watter
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 09:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 7
Default

I'm not getting a blue screen, I do have a feeling that it is the PSU tho.
__________________

acpmadness is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.