Computer Restarting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2004, 12:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 41
Send a message via AIM to Stillxlife
Default Computer Restarting

I wasnt quite sure which area to post in so i just posted here...

We're trying to fix my friends computer, everytime you try to boot up it gets to windows it says somthing about finding drivers for a monitor and then it just restarts for no apparent reason....

We have tried everying, we reformatted it, messed with **** in the bios, i dont know what the hell is goin on.

Oh and it runs fine in safe mode...

Any clue how to fix this?
__________________

Stillxlife is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 12:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what is your monitor brand and model?
it is unable to use the monitor properly because it needs the drivers, which are the instructions on how to use it
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 12:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 41
Send a message via AIM to Stillxlife
Default

no no, its not the monitor cause its always worked fine before... and how would that explain it just restarting on its own?
Stillxlife is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 12:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

It wouldn't be the monitor's problem, it's the OS's problem as it needs to know how to run the monitor
you do need drivers for practically every device on your system, and when you format you wipe everything including the drivers
I'm not sure how you would install new drivers if you can't get into the OS though
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 12:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 41
Send a message via AIM to Stillxlife
Default

i know everything needs drivers, but it was doing this before we formatted it. And even if this monitor did need drivers i dont see how it would just make the whole system restart...
Stillxlife is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 06:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 41
Send a message via AIM to Stillxlife
Default

bump
Stillxlife is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 06:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Its nothing to do with the monitor. Even in safe mode the monitor.inf file is used. It just doesn't load graphic exact drivers like the vid card. I dont know of any monitor that wont use a generic monitor.inf file. There ARE .inf files specific to that monitor, however unless its a plotter or touch screen or specialty graphic design it shouldn't matter. If you're able to get into safe mode, check

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\ SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce]

and see if anything is listed in there. Also check the DM for any multiple listings, splats or unkown devices. May want to update the MBD chipset drivers, too.

also, disable things like APM, PXE/Netaware (installing remotely) and SATA (make IDE compat until latest SP is installed) in the bios.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 01:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 41
Send a message via AIM to Stillxlife
Default

Ok there are several things listed in the SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce folder, so then what? do i delete them?

Also what is "the DM"
Stillxlife is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 01:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 41
Send a message via AIM to Stillxlife
Default

bump again
Stillxlife is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 02:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

Seeing as though it is your friends computer that is restarting unexpectedly, then I suggest chaning parts individually, starting with graphics card, then monitor, then memory... that should tell you what is wrong with it.
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.