computer rebooting..... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2005, 01:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Default computer rebooting.....

I have a pIII 933 dell computer with 256 mb. the computer always freezing up while its booting up( when its booting windows 2000), if its not freezing it keeps on rebooting for no apparent reason.

I changed everything (i.e video card, hd, ram, processor, cd-drive, ) but it still keeps on doing the same thing. the only thing i didnt change is the power supply and the motherboard.

frantic is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 01:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Osiris's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris

Its possible it might be a driver conflict of some sort. How long has 2000 been the system?

Osiris is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 09:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5

not long....... it was doing the same thing when i had windows 98 on the old drive.
frantic is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 03:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 73

did u say u replaced the hard drive/ because if u did and u used system recovery to get back ur old computer it migth not work. dell adn other brands like hp do special formatting so that there software will only work with there hardware. except for like ram and graphics cards. but hard drives the do something so they work only for them. so u might need to go back to ur old hdd
socom234 is offline  
Old 01-20-2005, 08:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5

in the new hd i was able to install 2000, but it gave me a few probs installing, nevertheless it was installed. the problem is that its still doing the same thing as when 98 was installed on the old drive. ive changed everything but the mb and powersupply.
Somebody told me that the voltage from the powersupply could be wrong, and somebody else told that it could be the cpu fan, cuz the cpu is heating up faster. the fan seems to be working good..... any suggestions?
frantic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.