Computer randomly shutting off

Status
Not open for further replies.

Borders

Beta member
Hello everyone, i apologize if this topic has already been posted although this is my first time here. About two weeks ago my computer has started to random shut off, i thought nothing of it the first couple of times but it seems to have gotten worse. I will hear a quiet, sometimes loud, 3 second beep through my headphones and the computer will completely shut off. Afterwards when i try to start it back up it will usually crash within a couple of seconds, sometimes it will continue to run for the majority of the day. It tends to be quite random, at times when i restart it it will not start up until i enter the bios, save it and leave. I've seen the CPU tempature peak at 185 F a couple of times, although i'm not exactly sure if that's normal or bad. Basically i'm seeking help to figure out of this is a hardware or software problem, and how i should go about fixing this. Any information would be appreciated, thanks in advanced.

Sounds like you're trying to cook your CPU.

Open up your case and watch the heatsink fan. It sounds like it is either cutting out on you, or it is slowly dying and getting slower.

If you can tell that it is, get another HSF ASAP. Or you'll get the pleasure of having to buy one when you buy a new CPU to replace the one you just baked...

If my conversions are right, your CPU is running about 70C. Not good.

But your fans seem to be running fine.

When is the last time you cleaned out your computer? Blew it out and cleaned it really good? You could have a lot of dust built up in it, which can really drive up your temps.

You can get a can (or two) of compressed air at any computer store/ office supply/ WallyWorld for a few bucks.