Computer randomly shuts down....not a virus, already tried new motherboard & RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2005, 11:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Unhappy Computer randomly shuts down....not a virus, already tried new motherboard & RAM

Hi I have been having issues with my computer lately......It just turns itself off randomy.. At first, I thought it was the motherboard, I replaced it and still having issues. The problem is the computer randomly dies and is progressivly getting worse. At first it just rebooted in windows, I figured a virus, then it did it before windows and even in BIOS. As I said it is getting worse, it used to reboot, now it just dies and I have to unplug the motherboard until the LED goes off and plug it back in to start it up again...... The issue went away for about 2 weeks and came back 3 days ago with one random shut down, today it happened again and it wont even get to windows, it evne died 3 times in BIOS.

Now: I have replaced the MB and the RAM and it has not helped......my last 2 guesses are Power supply and Processor....

Any guesses what it is?
__________________

Boraman is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 11:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 15
Default

i'd check your hard drive as well
__________________

Yöda is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 11:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

I would back up everything that you have improtant on that drive and then wipe the drive and reinstall the os and your files.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 11:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Make sure your CPU isnt at a high temp. If it is at a normal temp then it is most likely your power supply....... How much wattage does it have?
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 07:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Default

I have already tried formatting and had no luck...... my reason for thinking its not the hard drive is that it reboots in BIOS, before the HD is even on (I think that is correct?)

Am I wrong to lean towards the processor as the problem? I dont know why it would be the power supply only because ive had the ps for like 3 years and when it dies, although pressing the power button does nothing to the computer unless I unplug the cord, the LED is on so there is SOME power...

let me know what you all think.
Boraman is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 08:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415
Default

so theres some power, if its not exact its gonna b unstable more likely unusable
__________________
Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
specs.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 09:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Default

any one else have a guess?
Boraman is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 01:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default

Please take the advice of uzi9mm. The processor or heatsink may be improperly seated, causeing the temp to raise to high. When this happens, your comp will shut down to prevent you from frying your CPU. Go in the BIOS and check the temp reading. If your BIOS doesnt have a temp reading, go download Motherboard Monitor and run that. The temp should be nothing more than 60C. If it is more, then the heat is causing the problem. If it is in the range under that, check the temp at which the computer will shut down (again this is in the BIOS). I would set it at 60C. Most CPUs will handle up 70C before damage will occur.

If the CPU is not the problem, then I dont know what the deal is. If you can not start up your PC to check all this, I would reset the BIOS. This is done by turning off the computer, unplug the power cord, and remove the battery. Then move the correct jumper (check your motherboard manual) to the 2-3 position for about a minute then move it back to 1-2. Then plug everything back in. There are many things that can change your BIOS settings. This happenned to me with a bad OC on my vidcard. Everything worked fine, but it would screw up the graphics after playing for a while, causing me to have to restart. Clearing the BIOS fixed that.

Let us know.
__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 02:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Default

ah ha!

I overloaded the comp to see if that was the problem and sure enough it shut down, i checked the bios and as soon as it got to 60C shut down.

Definatly an overheating problem.

What do you think is the best way to fix this problem? i did NOT use thermal paste when I put the fan in because i didnt have any around.... will that solve hte problem or just help a bit? Should I get a new CPU fan?

let me know
Boraman is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 02:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default

I would get a good heatsink and fan combo. The more $$ you can spend the better. I dont know of a specfic one for AMD, but I am sure someone can recommend one. I do know that AMDs get hotter than Intels. Also make sure that you have proper air flow through the case. You can check this by leaving the case side off and then checking temps. Also, do yourself a favor and get some Artic Silver 5. That stuff is great for lowering temps.
__________________

__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.