Computer randomly restarted again got erroe report - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2005, 11:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default Computer randomly restarted again got erroe report

The error report from windows said a device driver cause it. How can I go about fixing this?
__________________

DwayneDays is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 11:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default

Error Caused By A Device Driver

Thank you for submitting an error report. Microsoft is unable to specifically determine what caused the problem you reported. To troubleshoot the problem, please see the information below.

Analysis

A device driver installed on your system caused the problem; however, we cannot determine the precise cause. Depending on which situation is applicable to you, please do one of the following:

* If this problem occurred after you installed a new hardware device on your system, the problem might be caused by the driver for the device. If you know the manufacturer of the device, contact the manufacturer's product support service for assistance.
* Some software, such as firewall and anti-virus software, also installs drivers. If this problem occurred after you installed new software, the software might have installed a driver that caused the problem. If you know the manufacturer of the software, contact the manufacturer's product support service for assistance.
* If you don't know the driver's manufacturer and need help diagnosing and resolving this problem, contact your computer manufacturer's product support service.
* Updated drivers might be available on the Microsoft Windows Update website. At Windows Update, you can have your computer scanned and, if there are updated drivers available, Windows Update will offer a selection of drivers that you might be able to use. To learn more about updated drivers that might be available, visit Microsoft Windows Update.
* For information about Microsoft support options, visit Microsoft Product Support Services.
__________________

__________________
DwayneDays is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 11:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default

Im just gonna buy a new psu and motherboard and hopefully it fixes itself
__________________
DwayneDays is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 03:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default

I had that kind of problem in the past and I can't figure out what causing it. It just been solved when I properly install the appropriate driver for my video card. You might tried it out...
extendcradle is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 07:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 173
Default

i had the same problem and micro$oft finally found out what it was. it turned out to be the on board sound that was causing me sooo many annoying reboots. do you have ob sound? is it realtek?
__________________
e6700 @ 3.0ghz stock cooling
bfg nforce 680i
dual bfg 8800gtx
Corsair XMS2-6400 C4 TwinX PC2-6400 2GB
Barracuda 7200.10 320GB 16MB Cache SATA-II x2
Enermax Galaxy 850W
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue 2000dpi Gaming Mouse
Saitek Eclipse 2 Illuminated Keyboard
NEC LCD20WGX2 Silver Widescreen 20" TFT Monitor
crward is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 08:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

If it is onboard sound download your latest chipset drivers and sound drivers from the mobo manufacturers website, it might fix the problem and save you changing componants.
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 09:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DwayneDays
Im just gonna buy a new psu and motherboard and hopefully it fixes itself
big mistake unless your ready to reinstall your o/s. Just go to the motherboards website and download all updated drivers.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 10:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default

I found the drivers for my mobo but it says rev.1 rev.1 behind it and I dunno which ones to download.
__________________
DwayneDays is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 10:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default

rev.1 and rev.2 and ultra 1 and ultra.2 which one shouldf I download my audio drivers from?
__________________
DwayneDays is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 10:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default

Heres all my driver info


Audio Driver Version: 5.10.0.5820
Audio Controller: INTEL (ICH5)
AC97 Codec: ALC658
__________________

DwayneDays is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.