Computer Questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2005, 02:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to DementedElf Send a message via Yahoo to DementedElf
Default Computer Questions

Building a new compy - pretty much set on what I want. I have my case picked out (Antec Sonata), and I am going to go with the Athlon64. My questions follow my mobo info.

GIGABYTE GA-K8NS-939 Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce3 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard - OEM
(limit 2 per customer)

AGP Slots: 1x AGP 8X/4X
CPU Type: Athlon 64 FX/Athlon 64
DDR Standard: DDR 400 (PC 3200)
Dual Channel Supported: Yes
FSB: 1000MHz Hyper Transport
Maximum Memory Supported: 4GB
Number of DDR Slots: 4x 184pin DDR
PATA: 2 x ATA 133 up to 4 Devices
PATA RAID: NV RAID 0/1/0+1 JBOD
PCI Slots: 5
# Model #: GA-K8NS-939

Ok, questions.

I'm probably only going to be able to afford 1GB of memory. My friend tells me that I should use 2 sticks of 512 to allow for duel channeling. So, I suppose my questions are:
1) OEM memory fine?
2) What's the difference between PC2700, PC3000, PC3200, etc?
3) What else do I need to know about memory to make a proper decision - ie: what parts of my mobo make a diff for the memory?


Help is greatly appreciated!

D~E
__________________

DementedElf is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 02:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

1) Yes, it is fine. OEM stuff comes with minimal documentation and packaging.

2) Those are just different speeds of RAM.

3) You already have everything you need to know. The RAM you will need to get is DDR (that uses 184 pins). If you are not going to overclock, then get valueram from corsair or kingston.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 03:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to DementedElf Send a message via Yahoo to DementedElf
Default

Thanks!

So how much difference will the speeds ACTUALLY make?
DementedElf is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 03:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DementedElf
Thanks!

So how much difference will the speeds ACTUALLY make?
Look here for the 2 red bars. It will give you a good idea how much of a difference it will make:
http://www23.tomshardware.com/index....l2=32&chart=25

These days, it is really silly to buy PC2700 or 2100 because you can often get 3200 for the same, or even less, of a price.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 03:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

It's not worth your money at all to get 1600, 2100 or 2700 these days, aim to get PC3200 ONLY (For AMD DDR systems)

Corsair value ram is a good suggestions, it's cheap and OK ram
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 01:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 41
Default

try to buy what is on the specs of your mobo... the higher end i mean not on the lower end.. also follow your friends advice dual channeling your ram will also increase your pc's performance..
yapeeyapee is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 07:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to DementedElf Send a message via Yahoo to DementedElf
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by yapeeyapee
try to buy what is on the specs of your mobo... the higher end i mean not on the lower end...
I'm not sure what is meant by this. Could you elaborate?

Thanks for all of the help provided thus far!
DementedElf is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 08:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

In the cliffnotes version

Get PC3200 and run it dual channel
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 10:19 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to DementedElf Send a message via Yahoo to DementedElf
Default

Thanks
__________________

DementedElf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.