Computer Postmortem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2004, 04:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Unhappy Computer Postmortem

I know this sounds silly but
My computer recently broke. (AMD K6-2 550 mhz, 184 SD-RAM, 10 gig HDD, CD burner, Floppy drive, Modem, 4 months ago upgraded to XP from 98) Now i am being hassled by my family on why it broke. I thought it was not such a big deal that it broke because it was old so it gave me a reason to upgrade but it ran reliably. What happened is that i booted it up, soon after a odd jumbled up picture came up on the screen, the picture did not show anything odd or anything related to windows. Then it shut down and refuesed to start up again. I tried different monitors and different video cards i had around but still no response. My family (who arnt very computer literate) think because i was running XP it broke because i pushed it too hard but it easily met microsofts requirements for XP. A power surge is possible but they have never happened before to us, also monitor, printer, modem which is hooked up to the same outlet still work. A week before it broke i ripped a lot of cd's to the hard drive. However i dont think any of these are the reasons it broke. Also i bought this computer in 01' and i know it was build in 00'.
If anyone knows about why my computer broke my family would be happy to know why.

Thanks
Wayne
__________________

waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 06:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

the PSU hasnt busted cos the HDD spins and the CPU works etc.
Thanks for the help

wayne
__________________

waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 09:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Computer Postmortem

Quote:
Originally posted by waynejkruse10
I know this sounds silly but
My computer recently broke. (AMD K6-2 550 mhz, 184 SD-RAM, 10 gig HDD, CD burner, Floppy drive, Modem, 4 months ago upgraded to XP from 98) Now i am being hassled by my family on why it broke.
That sux dude!!!!

With out really putting any thought into what you have discibed ;
My response would be that the MOTHERBOARD DIED as it was old. Like I have not seem a socket 7 motherboard since about early year 2000. And that was RA stock that the disty still had on hand.

That processor and motherboard set is about 4-5 years old. Most home computer life expectancy IMHO is 3 years.

It's going to be a bit of a good luck job finding a socket 7 motherboard now days as no one is making them any more.

If you purchased that system in 2001, then I would find it hard to believe that it's new.

Quote:
Originally posted by waynejkruse10
My family (who arnt very computer literate) think because i was running XP it broke because i pushed it too hard but it easily met microsofts requirements for XP.
Now that is BULL$#!+ right there. Xp would easily run on that box. I have managed to get a Xp to run on CPUs a low as Celeron 333Mhz. And I have installed it on plenty of 500 Mhz CPUs with out a hit.
No offence, but your parents are full of $#!+ with their statement.


You might try to convince your parents to upgrade to some thing newer / better. Like a motherboard + Celeron 2Ghz is only about $200 in this country.

Over all, good luck. I really hate it when some one it on my back about things. Especialy when they have no idea.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 02:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 228
Send a message via Yahoo to jaun1477
Default

when it you say "refuesed to start up again" do you mean it wont power up?
does any ligths blink?
i had a problem with an old computer and all i did was replace the power sw
can you try to boot with a 98 floopy?
since it was an upgrade did you have your old o/s discs?
__________________
EL VAQUERO
_________________
amd athlon xp 2400+
1 apacer 256mb unb pc2700 cl2.5
motherboard msi kt4av via kt400a chipset based
1 ??? 512 mb pc2700
1 agp 8x/4x (geforce 4 predator mx4408x)
2 year old 21 magnavox monitor
1 aquos sharp 15\"tv
Seagate 40gb hd
DC Output: 420Watts Total: +5V/0~42A, +12V/0~18A
+3.3V/0~26A, -5V/0~0.8A, -12V/0~1.0A, +5VSB/0~2.5A.
http://img44.photobucket.com/albums/...vantar_gif.gif
jaun1477 is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 05:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

the power supply fan worked, also the cpu fan worked and the HDD. Im using the old parts (monitor, mouse, keybrd, case, etc) to build a new amd duron with 256 ram etc. Also I might upgrade to a AXP in later years

Thanks
wayne
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.