Computer not loading up........ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2005, 09:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default Computer not loading up........

I wake up this morning and find that my computer crashed sometime in the middle of the night and now it wont load up. It gets stuck on the page where it says "booting from CD:" I'm thinking something is wrong with the harddrive, but haven't had time to look into it as I had to go work *sigh*.

Any ideas or suggestions on how to proceed would be greatly appreciated.

My computer is a amd xp 2600, power colour radeon 9550, with 512 corsair value ram, and the hard drive is a seagate SATA 160G
__________________

whoami1234 is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 10:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 119
Default

first, y r u booting from ur CD? second, go into the bios, reset it and make sure ur CD drive is configured correctly for booting. third, open up the case and make sure everything is seated correctly and nothing got bumped loose (a pin on ur cd drive could be disconnected.) fourth, try a different CD, make sure its a proper bootable cd.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 3400+ s939 / ASUS A8V Deluxe (K8T800Pro) / Kingston Dual Channel DDR 400 (2 x 256) Corsair Value DDR 400 (2 x 512) / ATI Radeaon 9600XT / Seagate 120 GB/
deadweight is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 10:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 261
Send a message via AIM to bigstanklo
Default

Try clearing the CMOS as well before you update BIOS. I would say do that just to make sure that doesn't interfere later on. Remove the battery in the case for about 30 min then update bios and see where that takes you.
bigstanklo is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 10:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for the info.

Guess didn't mention it, but i'm not booting from a CD, just that in bios it set to boot from floppy, than CD than harddrive. But it seems to get stuck at the part of booting from CD. And doesn't go into the windows load screen.

I'm at work right now, so once i get home at the end of the day i'll try some of your suggestions.
whoami1234 is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 10:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 261
Send a message via AIM to bigstanklo
Default

Maybe first try switching the CD drive to the first drive to boot with the Windows CD in it. That should boot from the cd without getting stuck on anything. Usually worked for me when I had to try it before.
bigstanklo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.