Computer not correct specs - Page 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2005, 05:05 PM   #61 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

www.nvidia.com download the latest geforce drivers

don't use the ones that came with the cd. the only time you do that is when you need to get on the internet. Keeping your drivers updated is very important. Especially if you're a gamer.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 05:06 PM   #62 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default

After the whole NVIDIA thing is installed and I got the basic drivers can I take off the monitor cord on my video card and put it back into my computer?

Because this is really f'ing up my screen.
__________________

__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 05:07 PM   #63 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

What?

Your video cable should be plugged into the geforce
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 05:10 PM   #64 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default

Isnt the video cable my monitor plug?
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 05:12 PM   #65 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Yes, things got a little fuzzy when you said ..


"can I take off the monitor cord on my video card and put it back into my computer?"
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 05:16 PM   #66 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default

So I permanently keep the monitor plug on my video card?

Remember on the right side of my screen theres more black that wasnt there before I installed the vid card.
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 05:18 PM   #67 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

You need to use the buttons on your monitor to fill the screen out
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 05:22 PM   #68 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default

Is this a common thing? I'm trying to use the buttons on my monitor but all I do is end up distorting it even more. If I expand, I can't see my left side, etc. BTW, where do I go to disable/uninstall my integrated graphics drivers??
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 05:26 PM   #69 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
BTW, where do I go to disable/uninstall my integrated graphics drivers??
BIOS

You should be able to right click on the desktop, go to properties, then ADVANCED settings, and those should give you options in which you can move your desktop and fit it to the screen without using the monitor buttons
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 05:28 PM   #70 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

There are 4 settings, stretch vertical, move vertical, stretch horizontal, move horizontal. These are the only 4 you need to worry about. Pretty much what you want to do is center your screen and then stretch and move, strech and move, until it is perfectly centered horizontal. Then you stretch and move, strech and move, strech and move to get the vertical perfectly centered and stretched. It takes a few minutes to get it perfect.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.