A computer with no HDD - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2005, 11:32 AM   #11 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Well, since this rig would only be for flat out performacne, and prolly not alot of read/write cycles, that would be great.

most pen drives still arent even a gig yet. And the oens that are, cost some serious dough. You think one of those would be big enough for a FS and an OS? We would eventually need to put windows on there, just for comparison reasons with other OCers.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 11:41 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

good luck with windows, windows doesnt support this kind of thing at all

windows OS is over 2GB without any extra apps for windowsXP, you might get away with a hacked version of win98 but you'd have to do some very serious hacking to do it

Probably have to intstall it on a hard drive, then transfer the image to a pendrive, then load that into a machine so you can do some serious editing to windows on the pendrive, then it might work.Awful lot of work for something that can be done easily in linux.
__________________

horndude is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 12:03 PM   #13 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Him

most pen drives still arent even a gig yet. And the oens that are, cost some serious dough.
59.99 1gb

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820155406
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 01:25 PM   #14 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Oh damn was I wrong. Man, I bought my 64mb pen drive for $40 and THAT was a good deal! Bah, technology sucks.
Him is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 02:39 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

Hey horndude, how do you go about putting your entire OS into your RAM.

I thought guys might like to see this. All you need is a USB card reader.
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 02:50 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

Easily, use a boot loader, load kernel,load filesystem into RAM,have the kernel mount the filesystem, and start using it.
__________________

horndude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.