computer locks up randomly - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2004, 01:00 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 129
Default

Have you tried installing the latest Via 4 IN 1 drivers?

I had this problem before, twice and once was solved by replacing the PSU then the next was solved by replacing the memory. But this is not your problem so...Have you overclocked anything lately? Does your sound loop as well?

Have you tried a Virus scan? You say when your using it...Could be that a component in your computer is going bad (hd, cpu) Do you hear any noises when this happens? Checked the cabling? Runned ScanDisk?
__________________

-AnGuiSh- is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 09:12 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to hbhakta
Default

i dont know if the sound loops, there are no viruses, i havent installed the via in 1 drivers, i havent overclocked anything. ill try seeing if the sound loops. also, ive just intsalled redhat linux 9, and it hasnt locked up so far in linux (2 days). it usually locks up at least 3x a day in windows. could it be the way the os uses the hardware?
__________________

hbhakta is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 11:34 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 129
Default

Well, the latest Via 4 in 1 drivers fix alot of the problems that usually get associated with it and Windows. I think If you use Nvidia then you should definitely update it'

http://www.viaarena.com/?PageID=403

Select the right package for your chipset and see if it works
-AnGuiSh- is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 10:57 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to hbhakta
Default

ok i installed the via 4 in 1 drivers, and it still locks up.
hbhakta is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 12:57 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 92
Default

I am thinking HD problem, thats' also a tail tail sign of HD crapping out.
Senseis is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 03:33 AM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to hbhakta
Default

yea im thinking that too. but then y doesnt it lock up in linux. puzzling stuff. it also doesnt lock up when i run the ultimate boot cd in dos. that stresses the hdd and tests it for failure. it seems perfectly fine. and i did the SMART test that western digital drives have, and it passes.
hbhakta is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 03:36 AM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to hbhakta
Default

ok i also just noticed something else. u know the sound the hdd makes when u boot up, the high pitched noise which is the disks accelerating. well i hear that sound 1 second before it freezes. and the sound doesnt loop by the way. everything just stops. im going to try putting in another hdd. but it still puzzles me why it doesnt lock up in the other environments where the hdd is locking up.
hbhakta is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 03:38 AM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to hbhakta
Default

oops i mean why doesnt it lock up in the other environments where the hdd is being used.
__________________

hbhakta is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.