computer lies about processor speed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2004, 04:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
 
Seria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553
Default computer lies about processor speed

I have a small question about my processor.

I have an AMD Athlon XP 2400+, but my computer thinks it’s a 1800+.

What can I do to fix that?
__________________

Seria is offline  
Old 12-18-2004, 04:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

Well your processer may have underclocked it.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 12-18-2004, 05:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

What type of mobo do you have..>?
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 12-18-2004, 05:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Go into your BIOS and raise your CPU FSB from 100 to 133 and this should fix your problem
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-18-2004, 06:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
 
Seria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553
Default

It worked, thanx. I didn't know where to fix the problem. I just thought I had a stupid mobo - MSI K7N2 Delta2 (never tried this mobo B4)
__________________
Seria is offline  
Old 12-18-2004, 06:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

No problem. I had the exact issue when I first bought a new MSI KT6V board back in april when I had no clue about computers like I do now. Whenever you get a motherboard it will default the FSB to 100 for safety purposes. From there you have to adjust it according to your CPU settings and FSB to get it's full functionality.

At first I thought the dude from the computer store pulled a switcheroo on me or something lol.
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-18-2004, 08:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to sniper234
Default

download CPU-Z if it says the same mess with the Bios :P
sniper234 is offline  
Old 12-18-2004, 09:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

why when I raise my FSB to 166 my 2000 gig processor say amd2600 yet, the computer won't boot up in this mode. I have the same mobo as seria
EricB is offline  
Old 12-18-2004, 10:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn
Default

Is your processor a 2600+? If so, It could be Any Number of things.
__________________
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 12:24 AM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I don't know. I bought a amd2000, but it had produce a high pitch whine, so I took it back (I bought the whole computer so they could tell what I was talking about), they test the computer, then they put a new processor in and give it back. it read at amd2000 and works at 133 fsb
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.