computer lab - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2005, 05:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Default computer lab

if need a little help with a school assignment i have. the task requires me to develpoe a computer lab for a community centre, there is to be ten computers as well as software and hardware for the lab. if you could help give me some advice for what products i could use and i also need to have security and firewalls so i can controll the uses of the computers. well if you could help me out it would be greatley appriciated. thank you for your time
__________________

Shadow_knight is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 05:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

Microsoft Office 2003 for all the computers. We use it at school and it's pretty cool. As for the computers I recommend using Dell. They're dead silent, hardly put out any heat and don't look that bad. 2.6ghz, 256ram, 40 gig hd's should be fine.
__________________

__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 05:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 47
Default

Actually, for school computers, go skimpy one the HDD and CPU, and put in lots o ram. That is the thing I hate most about my schools (and librarys computers)... takes LOOOONG time for windows to boot, and do initial program startups. That being said, I reccomend 2000, and possibly novell netware as a network system.
__________________
http://blog.gandmcomputers.com
http://hwa.gandmcomputers.com <- Check out the new benchmark competition on the block!
gregm is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 06:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

build yer own and f office. Get openoffice.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 06:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

To make sure people dont go to porn get WebMarshall..... That thing is a freaking ***** at my school
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 07:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

Do you have a user ID and password to log in? The comptuers at my library are 2.8 512 and 20gb hard drive, and work like a charm. They have PC-Rdist on them, so everytime you log off everything is reverted back to factory state.
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 05:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Default

hey thanks for your help, but one tip of advice for "yagregm" windows ME (2000) has got to many ways to hack into, i can hack in, in an instant, but your help was deepley apricated, also do yous know what i could use for network. Eg/ fileserver, switch, router. thanks again
__________________

Shadow_knight is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.