Computer Keeps Crashing But Don't Know Why! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2005, 09:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 133
Question Computer Keeps Crashing But Don't Know Why!

Hi,

Every now and then my computer crashes and give the blue screen but before I am able to read the error, it restarts. This problem can happen anytime but mostly when I'm playing games. The time it crashes the most is when I play Ground Control 2. I am thinking it is my RAM which is causing it as I am running a generic brand but I don't want to buy new ones if its not the problem as this would be a waste of money.

I'm doubting it could be the motherboard or the CPU and I don't think its the graphics card as I've played other games for hours without a problem like Doom 3 and Half Life 2 although it does crash when I'm playing Counterstrike Source.

Is there anyway I can stop this problem as it is driving me mad and do you have any suggestions?

Thanks!
__________________

24/7 Gamer is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 09:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

Download memtest 86 (google it), burn it to a floppy, and let it run for 10 hours to make sure it's your RAM. If you have a CRT, don't forget to turn your monitor offf, as the memtest sceeen is very static.

EDIT: If you do get errors, perhpas try taking your ram out (carefully), cleaning it, and then reseating it, to rule out a simple problme with the interface. Then see if you can borrow some eqivelent sticks from a freind and see if those test without errors, if they do, then your ram is probably the issue. Keep your friend's sticks (j/k).
__________________

__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 10:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

You might wanna check out the STOP error message or description of the error, which appears in the blue screen, by disabling 'Automatic Restart' in Windows XP.

Go to control panel > system > advanced > startup and recovery > settings - then uncheck 'Automatic Restart' under System Failure. From there you can research the specific STOP error message on Microsoft Support or just on the net.

You could also go into 'Administrative Tools' (if installed) and check the Event Viewer for errors at the time of occurance.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 10:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 293
Default

i don't know how to tell you this, my lil brother's old computer was exactly like that
it is most likely, your motherboard
if thats the case, juss get a new computer or buy a barebone computer
which comes with most of the stuff and juss get this computer hardwares and plug in the barebone

better to save on budget

barebone should cost about the same as 1gig of ram
so juss take ur old ram and put it in ur new computer

but before you do that
do wut the above post say about checking for failure
__________________
professor at your service
XFlamez is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 11:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 133
Default

Cheers guys. I'll try the automatic restart option first and read the error to tell you guys before I do the memory test because there might be some useful information in it.

Thanks for the quick replies
24/7 Gamer is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 11:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 133
Default

Ok I just did the restart thing and as soon as I started to play GC 2 it happened and I managed to write down the error which is:

*** STOP: 0X00000024 (0X001902FE, 0XF6DBF860, 0XF6DBF55C, 0XF7393543)

*** STOP: NTFS.sys - Address F7393543 base at F7368000, Datestamp 41107eea


Any Ideas?
24/7 Gamer is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 01:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Hello,

ok, the 0x24 STOP error message by NTFS.sys shows probable hard drive corruption, or file corruption. First, try doing a full CHKDSK on your Hard Drive.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 03:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 33
Default

Try reinstalling your game and looking for newer patches available for that game and for your video card. Sometimes there are multple reasons why that would happen.

Blue screen of Death, how I hate you so.
jppoulin is offline  
Old 02-14-2005, 02:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 293
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jppoulin
Try reinstalling your game and looking for newer patches available for that game and for your video card. Sometimes there are multple reasons why that would happen.

Blue screen of Death, how I hate you so.
i don't think its his game, he sed it happens most of the time during playing game



so probably while juss surfing the net? you get this??
__________________
professor at your service
XFlamez is offline  
Old 02-14-2005, 03:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50
Default

yes my friend has the same problem when he recoverd his harddrive it didnt work so he bought a new one and that blue screen error didnt pop up no more the harddrive was damaged
__________________

bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.