Computer keeps crashing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2004, 11:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
Default Computer keeps crashing

My friend has this computer problem where his computer keeps crashing everytime he boots it up. He has installed the operating system 8 times and has even bought a new hard drive and reinstalled the OS again, but it is still crashing. I think it may be the motherboard or cpu. Any Ideas?????

this is his mother board and cpu
MSI k7
AMD Athlon xp 2600+

ToeBall :beard:
__________________

toeball is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 11:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

toeball,

Check RAM whether it is seated properly. Check RAM for any errors usin memtest86. Does he get any error code/blue screen before windows crashes? And how about the cpu/mobo temeratures?
__________________

intercodes is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 11:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
Default

I am going over to his house to check it out. I might even bring it back over to my house so I can check it out here. I will let you know more in a few
toeball is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 04:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
Default

I guess he had the memory tested at a shop, and it is working properly, And windows doesnt even boot up. He said he was Overclocking his computer about a month ago it was getting glitchy and then he set it at the normal clock speed. Then about a week ago he started getting errors(but he didnt write them down), and his computer would crash when running programs. And now he cant even get windows to boot... Any advice to us??

I think he needs a new Processor, because he may have damaged it overclocking. but if anyone has any other ideas please post them..

ToeBall
toeball is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 11:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
Default

Does anyone have any ideas???????
toeball is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 03:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 303
Default

you said it.

overclocking is bad.

unless you are a smart geek.
__________________


eipeks is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 03:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

Maybe power suppy issues ?? It doesn't hurt to check.
__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 12-18-2004, 12:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 272
Default

Like Nikkon says, my guess is the power supply. Lack of power can sure cause lock ups and reboots.
Blizzard596 is offline  
Old 12-18-2004, 12:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 213
Send a message via AIM to The Rage
Default

Installed the OS 8 times? GEEZ! Maybe, don't overclock?
Be sure that you are installing OS properly. Do not connect any USB devices and install with the bare minimum. Install hardware in a smart sequence...motherboard drivers, video, sound. Then again we don't know the OS in question so it is a little hard to give advice.
__________________
You wouldn\'t like me when I\'m angry
The Rage is offline  
Old 12-18-2004, 01:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4
Default

My first post on this forum. Been building systems for some time. It sounds like it could be a couple of things. First thing, pull the power cable from the board and clear the cmos. Let bios detect everything, and see if it'll boot with those settings. Secondly, the bios itself could be corrupt. This happens on some boards when overclocked. Hope you get it back up and working.
__________________

JSMSB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.