Computer Hardware - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2004, 01:29 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

9800 Pro = the way to go! (nothing else, not even the 9600xt... maybe the X800...)
Note: Do not buy Sapphire products or you will regret it. Other people will say different but thats their dumb mind.
__________________

WQ87 is offline  
Old 06-20-2004, 01:32 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to zero1424
Default

Just go with Geforce FX 5800 or better. The new 6800 is amazing, too.
__________________

__________________
my saucy comp
Antec PlusView case
-600w PSU - 20A @ +12v
-Evercool fan controller
-5 LED fans, 4 blue 1 green
-Lian Li T3 Temp. Monitor
-planned mods, see below
ASRock K8S8X motherboard
-AMD Athlon 64 3000+ @ 2.0ghz
-Heatsink modded with Sunon Tornado, ~38C@Idle, 42C@Full Stress
-Inno3D Tornado nVidia Geforce FX 5600 128mb
-Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
-512mb DDR400 PC3200 2.5CSL
-100gb westen digital

19\" Compaq P900 // 1600x1200@70hz / 800x600@120hz
Intellimouse explorer 4.0a/Thunder8 x-ray pad

planned mods:
coming in mail:
Kingwin K8-heatsink modded with a Sunon(vantec) 84.1cfm fan, and blue lazer LED light kit
Blowholes in top of case with 2x 120mm Thermaltake Blue LED Thunderblade fans with Blade fan grills
Blue Cold Cathode
zero1424 is offline  
Old 06-20-2004, 07:44 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Give Feedback on my future computer:


western digital
ASrock motherboard (its got the socket A!!!)
GeForce video card
Intel processor
case

am i missing anything???
computerbob is offline  
Old 06-20-2004, 07:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to zero1424
Default

An intel processor won't work in a socket a motherboard. Get an Athlon XP for socket A. If you want intel its different.
__________________
my saucy comp
Antec PlusView case
-600w PSU - 20A @ +12v
-Evercool fan controller
-5 LED fans, 4 blue 1 green
-Lian Li T3 Temp. Monitor
-planned mods, see below
ASRock K8S8X motherboard
-AMD Athlon 64 3000+ @ 2.0ghz
-Heatsink modded with Sunon Tornado, ~38C@Idle, 42C@Full Stress
-Inno3D Tornado nVidia Geforce FX 5600 128mb
-Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
-512mb DDR400 PC3200 2.5CSL
-100gb westen digital

19\" Compaq P900 // 1600x1200@70hz / 800x600@120hz
Intellimouse explorer 4.0a/Thunder8 x-ray pad

planned mods:
coming in mail:
Kingwin K8-heatsink modded with a Sunon(vantec) 84.1cfm fan, and blue lazer LED light kit
Blowholes in top of case with 2x 120mm Thermaltake Blue LED Thunderblade fans with Blade fan grills
Blue Cold Cathode
zero1424 is offline  
Old 06-20-2004, 07:55 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
str8lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 446
Send a message via ICQ to str8lazy Send a message via AIM to str8lazy Send a message via Yahoo to str8lazy
Default

Intel uses Socket 478, and I think that your missing RAM
str8lazy is offline  
Old 06-20-2004, 08:04 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to zero1424
Default

some use 423 and some use 603 too.. but hte newer ones ues socket 478
__________________
my saucy comp
Antec PlusView case
-600w PSU - 20A @ +12v
-Evercool fan controller
-5 LED fans, 4 blue 1 green
-Lian Li T3 Temp. Monitor
-planned mods, see below
ASRock K8S8X motherboard
-AMD Athlon 64 3000+ @ 2.0ghz
-Heatsink modded with Sunon Tornado, ~38C@Idle, 42C@Full Stress
-Inno3D Tornado nVidia Geforce FX 5600 128mb
-Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
-512mb DDR400 PC3200 2.5CSL
-100gb westen digital

19\" Compaq P900 // 1600x1200@70hz / 800x600@120hz
Intellimouse explorer 4.0a/Thunder8 x-ray pad

planned mods:
coming in mail:
Kingwin K8-heatsink modded with a Sunon(vantec) 84.1cfm fan, and blue lazer LED light kit
Blowholes in top of case with 2x 120mm Thermaltake Blue LED Thunderblade fans with Blade fan grills
Blue Cold Cathode
zero1424 is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 12:51 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Ok, just make a list of a complete computer... all the SPECIFIC parts i would need to purchase... thats all, thanks!
computerbob is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 12:56 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default

Need your price limit and preference.........what your gonna do with the machine
__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 10:25 AM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 5
Default

I want to build a computer thats not great but no crappy... I want to be able to play games without slowing down the computer and i need the computer to be as cheap as possible.

Cmon people.. think!

computerbob is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 10:51 AM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

Okay the system you are describing can be made by the lowest end parts available;
-Athlon 2000+
-ASUS A7N8X-X
-512 Mb DDR PC-'whatever's the cheapest'
-80Gig Western Digital HD 8Mb Cache 7200 RPM
-Radeon 9600
-Case (make sure has 350W PSU and is ATX)
-keyboard & mouse
-DVD drive, cd-burner, DVD-burner, whatever the hell you want
-Monitor

There. An insanely cheap computer that will do what you claim you want it to do. Definately not great by todays standards. Can get a higher Athlon chip ie 2800+. can also get a diff graphics card if you want to.
__________________

sithspawn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.