Computer freezing in the middle of games - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2004, 08:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Default Computer freezing in the middle of games

After gaming for about 1 hr straight my computer just freezes there. I cant go back to the desktop or anything.
Is this a hardware problem or software conflict?
Im using Windows xp sp2
with radeon 9700
__________________

jc1918 is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 08:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Check the CPU and videocard temps.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 08:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Sounds like an overheating issue to me. What kind of cooling do you have in the system?
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 08:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

What game is it, or is it all of your games?

One thing to try is taking off the side of your case when playing games. If it freezes up than you most likely have a cooling issue. If not then you have a different problem.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 10:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Default

It happens in all my games. It started to do this like a week ago.
I checked the temps during startup and they were good.
I have fans as my cooling system.
Also, my comp started freezing up randomly at startup too.

Well, the computer was stuffed up in a box in one of those storage centers for 3 weeks...that mightve affected it.
jc1918 is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 10:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

What version of the catalyst drivers are you running?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 11:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jc1918
Well, the computer was stuffed up in a box in one of those storage centers for 3 weeks...that mightve affected it.
I have seen storage containers mess up pcs. But this is when they have been stored away for a few months to a year.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 11-16-2004, 12:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Catalyst version 4.11 came out on ATI's site not long ago. I got a performance increase when I upgraded to them. It also fixes a memory allocation error with ALL 256mn ATI cards..

If your system is having all those problems you should run some tests.

For one, put memtest86 on a floppy and let it run:
www.memtest86.com

That will run a full check on your system memory.
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 11-16-2004, 04:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Default

hmm...I have 4.10, I'll update those drivers and see how it works.
I'll try the memtest too.
Thx for all the suggestions
jc1918 is offline  
Old 11-17-2004, 01:36 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

You said you checked your temp at startup you should run play the games till it freezes up and re boot and then check your temp.Pull the side off and see how much dust is in your fans.Look at the fan on the back of your computer on the power supply and see how durty it is.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.