Computer Freezing... Is It Hardware ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2005, 09:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Default Computer Freezing... Is It Hardware ?

I'm posting this question for a friend so I don't have the exact RAM speeds or make of GPU etc.

The system is running on an Athlon 1800XP, 512 Mb RAM, and a GeForce 4 GPU. The problem is that during games every so often the computer will lock up for a few seconds and then unfreezes and catches up with itself i.e. the character has run to the position he would have done had the computer not frozen. This makes the games completely unplayable.

I've tried formatting the hard drive and re-installing windows - that didn't work, and I also ran memtest86 to test the RAM, after 4 hours no errors had shown up. So I'm assuming it's some other hardware fault, could it be th GPU ?

Anybody got any ideas why it's happening and how this could be fixed ??

TIA, ro88o
__________________

ro88o is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 09:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

on high preformance games? it could just be that the hardware is inadequate, has it always done this?
__________________

GageMW is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 11:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Ro88o, sorry but its pretty obvious your getting lagg because your system is out dated. I think your friend should think about getting a Athlon 64, or getting a good cooling system so he can OC his computer.

But its just your hardware, modern games and applications have higher demands.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 11:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Have you tried new drivers for the hardware?

What prompted this to begin? If updated drives caused this, then you should roll back your drivers. Drivers for your video card that is.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 11:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

have you tried new drivers?

also you can download the latest DirectX (9.0c) from Microsoft's website
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 10:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Default It can't be outdated hardware...

Sorry probably should have mentioned this before - it isn't new games he's having the problem with, games which have worked for about a year on his computer suddenly started having this problem and now all games do it, this is what lead me to assume there's a hardware fault.
Also all the newest drivers and directX have been installed.
Any possibilities other than the age of the computer ?

TIA
__________________

ro88o is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.