Computer freezes while booting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2004, 11:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to Jibu
Unhappy Computer freezes while booting

hey, I'm having an unusual problem with my computer. When the computer is booting up, it passes the "Compaq" logo and the Windows XP splash screen fine, but when the screen is supposed to go blank briefly after the splash screen, 2/3s of the time the computer doesn't pass that point.

This has only started happening since yesterday. It occurred right after I had installed a new modem into the system. I had also switched around some PCI cards to try and fix a freezing problem I was having before. I'm not sure if this is related to the problem, but I know it has been happening since I installed the modem. I tried removing all of the PCI cards (including the modem) except for the graphics card, but the problem persists. Also, I checked the hard drive LED when the screen changed from the xp splash to the blank screen (just before it is supposed to go onto the log on screen) and the LED basically stops by the time it gets to that blank screen--it may flicker every few seconds or so but that's it. When the computer boots up normally, though, the LED flickers throughout the boot. At least every other boot has been giving me this problem. I end up having to manually shut down the system and reboot again when it happens.

PLEASE help
thanks
__________________

Jibu is offline  
Old 07-22-2004, 11:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 546
Default

Do you have an nic installed or maybe a 802.11a,b,g wireless card installed. if you do these can interfere with eachother and you have to take out any unused devices. this problem happened to me with an emachines comp. it can also be a driver problem, try installing the driver again or get an update from the manufacturer.
__________________

__________________

Musjunk22 is offline  
Old 07-22-2004, 11:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to Jibu
Default

nope, I tried removing all of the pci cards (network card, modem, and tv-tuner card) The problem doesn't go away. Also, I didn't install any new drivers. Even though I installed a new modem, it is actually a replacement for the one I had, which was the same brand and model (US Robotics 5610B) The modem and other cards have never caused a problem like this before...
Jibu is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 12:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

boot it in safe mode and scan for virusess, and scan ur disk for errors, and might as well defrag wile ur at it.
jolancer is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 09:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to Jibu
Default

I tried booting in safe mode and scanning for viruses. No viruses were found (my definitions are up-to-date). I scanned my disk for errors, but no errors were found. Please help! Thanks.
Jibu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.