Computer Freezes (tried everything!) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2005, 01:45 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

hell yeah.
__________________

nuke is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 01:45 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 38
Default

I my goodness, Belarc had run on this system a couple years ago showing there were two memory sticks in it. Now when I opened up to troubleshoot there was only one. I'm rushing off to buy another memory module. THanks for the tip.....
__________________

andrena is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 02:19 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

see lol...
nuke is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 02:28 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 38
Default

Thanks for the help, we'll see if that works. I have a feeling that will do the trick nicely.
andrena is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 02:34 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Your PSU is bad, get another one and see if the problem is resolved.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 03:09 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

what are you talking about... its not even psu, that his computer is slowing down.
nuke is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 03:17 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 38
Default

I kind of just ignored that comment, I assumed that stood for Power Supply Unit......
andrena is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 03:43 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
what are you talking about... its not even psu, that his computer is slowing down.
A computer lock-up is in most cases the result of instability. Instability is usually cased by parts getting underpowered, and since he not overclocking, and has swapped out numerous other parts, it leads me to believe his power supply is either dying, or not provided adaquent power..

PSU is indeed an abbreviation for power supply unit
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 03:46 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

just put a new memory card first, then we will see if it is the power supply. what is your spec anyway?
nuke is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 05:23 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 38
Default

Well it froze again, looks like we're trying power supply first thing Monday morning!!! DARNIT
__________________

andrena is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.