Computer Freezes (tried everything!) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2005, 05:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 38
Default Computer Freezes (tried everything!)

Windows 2000 box is freezing up. Formatted and reinstalled, froze on windows update. Swapped out different hard drives, memory cards, NIC, and ran hardware diagnostics. Changed fans and added additional fans. So for the most part I've eliminated OS and most removable hardware, and I've tried setting it up in a different room with monitor, mouse, keyboard. All attempts it still freezes. So I think maybe motherboard?......Any other ideas anybody's ran across? Oh and one more thing it does seem to freeze up on the internet a lot (but not all the time), is there something funky with Internet Explorer that could make it freeze up?

(Yes it has all the patches, spyware, and virus programs up to date)
__________________

andrena is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 05:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Run memtest. See my sig for the download.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 05:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

Sounds like memory error to me, run memtest as he said, that should tell you weather you have a faulty ram module.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 10:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 38
Default

Ok I'm running the memtest right now, but is this testing RAM or ROM because in my original post I did swap out the memory modules and it still froze up.
andrena is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 11:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 38
Default

That's funny it froze up on the memory test.
andrena is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 11:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Can you list the specs of the PC including brands.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 12:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 38
Default

Well it was put together by a hardware business in my town. I did run Belarc though, what did you want to know about? Like I said before, I eliminated hard drive, ram, NIC, ran hardware diagnostics, replaced fans, etc. I'm coming to the conclusion it is motherboard/processor. But it's weird that it seems to freeze mostly on internet.
andrena is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 12:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

I was going to lean on the motherboard. What brand/model is it?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 12:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

I'm guessing he doesn't have enough memory to run the window. That's what happen to my computer, when it had windows 2000.
nuke is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 01:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 38
Default

So what should I add another memory module???
__________________

andrena is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.