Computer freezes - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2005, 07:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
Default Computer freezes

I have a buddy's computer that I am working on and I am frustrated! Originally he had 2 problems. It was constantly freezing on him. Then his video went completely. I changed out his video card and got the picture back. Then the problem was the freezing. He had a lot of junk on the windows 98 system. I formatted the hardrive. When I went to load windows 98 back on to it it freezes every time I get to the first screen where it tells you how much time you have remaining. I took the hardrive and put it into another computer and loaded win 98 onto it. Every time I try to boot this hard drove in the other computer it freezes at the enter network password screen. I thought maybe it was the RAM that was the problem so I changed that out. Since then I have changed the Mobo, Processor, and the PSU. I don't think there is anything else left to change! That is why I posted this in the hardware section. Any ideas? The system is:

ASUS P2B mobo
Pentium 266
Win 98
Cirrus Logic PCI graphics card
__________________

adrienc9 is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 07:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 163
Send a message via Yahoo to xenosoul
Default

Try using a different windows 98 disk. I used to have problems similar to the one your having and a different disk solved the problem. I dont really know why that is, but at one point I went through like 3 disks on one computer I had owned. If not try installing windows xp if the processor is over 500mhz (a 350 will work but its pretty slow). Try that and let us know if that solved your problem.
__________________

xenosoul is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 02:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
Default

I was able to load windows xp and I got farther. I was able to boot up in safe mode but the computer is not really sufficient for xp. I am going to try to get another copy of 98 or 2000 and see if that works. I will let you know how I make out. Thanks for the help.
adrienc9 is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 01:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
Default

I tried 3 different disks of 98 and all were exactly the same. I have no idea what to do now!
adrienc9 is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 04:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 163
Send a message via Yahoo to xenosoul
Default

Try installing windows with the bare minimum hardware.. Ram,Video Card, Processor, Hard Drive
xenosoul is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 05:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

Check your RAM. could be a bad stick. Also could be a hard drive issue.

Also check the proc temp, overheats cause all kinds of fun issues.
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 06:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
Default

I have taken every other piece of harware out and same thing. I have bought new RAM and same thing. The hard drive works in another computer just fine. It seems like a driver issue or something. I am confused!
adrienc9 is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 07:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to Slayer
Default

Sounds like the problem is not freezing, but overheating. Not sure how heatsinks are mounted on those processors as i am not familiar with the older ones, but you need to either get a good heatsink for it or find out why the one you have isn't working. You said you changed the processor, did you use thermal compound on it before you put the heatsink on it? did you check how well the contact was? how good is the airflow in the case? see how hot the air blowing out the back is. definately sounds like an overheating problem.
__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/0/slayer924.png
Intel P4 @ 2.0 Ghz 400fsb
512mb Corsair XMS dual channel ddr400
Radeon 9800 XT 256mb
40 & 60 gig wd hd\'s
Audigy 2 ZS THX
Logitech 5.1 280watts rms sound THX
Slayer is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 10:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
Default

If it was overheating, would it freeze at the exact same spot every time?
adrienc9 is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 12:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to Slayer
Default

well the first time you turn on the comp if it starts out at room temp then it will take it just as long each time to overheat. or wehn windows is booting up theres certain points where it uses 100% of cpu processing power. Something similar happened to me with a laptop that the fan died in. not sure if thers any temperature sensors in the case or by cpu but if there is see what it is (try bios) and look online to what that specific processor temperature should be.
__________________

__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/0/slayer924.png
Intel P4 @ 2.0 Ghz 400fsb
512mb Corsair XMS dual channel ddr400
Radeon 9800 XT 256mb
40 & 60 gig wd hd\'s
Audigy 2 ZS THX
Logitech 5.1 280watts rms sound THX
Slayer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.