computer freezes - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2004, 07:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 17
Default computer freezes

hey i have a pentium 4 , 3.ghz processor computer with a 256mb ati radeon 9600 Xt graphics card and creative sound blaster audigy 24 bit sound,

i dont know what is wrong but when i play call of duty the computer freezes and it keeps making a bleepin noise, its sort of like a heart beat *dun dun dun*, i dont know what is wrong but if i play a dvd and move the window sometimes it also does the same thing freezes and makes a bleep. does anyone have any sujjestions what this cud be and how i can solve it as i cant play my game

cheers
__________________

monkeywithgirls is offline  
Old 10-14-2004, 07:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

Try turning off your hyper-threading.
__________________

brinks is offline  
Old 10-14-2004, 08:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 153
Send a message via AIM to OCC Fan
Default

i had a problem just like that....... took me a while to find out how to fix it.......... after years off attending college, i came up with the conclusion that placing a heater beside your computer will resolve the computer freezing issue....... i'm sorry i had to do it.
OCC Fan is offline  
Old 10-14-2004, 08:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422
Default

add another 256mb of ram

I assume you have an antivirus and firewall along with other software

xp + 2 extra program that didn't come on xp = add more ram

you need a minium of 512 for xp to operate

it will work with less, but not that good
vance43211 is offline  
Old 10-14-2004, 11:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

it could not even be that... it could be you have faulty ram and that it cant execute the instrustions the cpu sends it properly... try replacing your ram with another stick and see what happens
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 10-15-2004, 03:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 17
Default

i have 1 gb of ram i dont fancy having to replace it cause of the cost but i shal add some more
monkeywithgirls is offline  
Old 10-15-2004, 03:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
Default

Is the sound coming out of your speakers? if not, where?
cricket is offline  
Old 10-15-2004, 05:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 17
Default

yeh its coming from my stereo cause i conect that to my computer to give me a better sound,

what is that about hyper threading would that cause the problem
monkeywithgirls is offline  
Old 10-15-2004, 12:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
Default

Try reinstalling your sound drivers, or update your DirectX.
cricket is offline  
Old 10-15-2004, 12:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

Hyper-Threading enables multi-threaded applications to execute threads in parallel.

So basically, it's like having 2 processors, but having a single chip operate like two separate processors without implementing two cores on one chip.
__________________

brinks is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.