Computer Freezes with 2 DDRAM Slots Use - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2004, 10:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Question Computer Freezes with 2 DDRAM Slots In Use

Hi all,

My computer freezes when I have 2 DDRAM slots in use.

OS: Windows XP Media Centre Edition

I have a P4 MSI PX8 Neo-V Moetherboard with
1x 512 Veritech DDRAM
1x 512 V-Data DDRAM

I have 2 DDR slots

When I put 1 DDRAM (any brand in any slot) it works fine but only 1 DDRAM at a time. My computer will be on for days.

If I have both DDRAMS in used my copmuter will freeze eventually.
Even with both combinations. The longest my computer stayed on was about 5 hours before it frooze up. But on average it will freeze up about 1/2 hour later or when the computer is required to use RAM. It will freeze even if its doing nothing.

Is this a faulty motherboard?
Or is there something im suppose to be doing that im not ?

Thanks in advanaced.
__________________

SmoOtie is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 11:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

change the ram to same specs, may be 1 is registered DIMM and other NOT. or latency difference is causing trouble.

are you on windows XP?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 05:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Default

When you say change to the same specs, do you mean using using both DDRAMs as the same power.

Cause both my Veritech and V-Data is 512 each already.
Or do you mean I should try 2 Veritech's or 2 V-Data's at the same
time?

I am on WinXP Media Centre Centre Edition.

I have booted on regular XP and find that it still freezes.
SmoOtie is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 07:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Default

?
SmoOtie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.