computer 'expansion' question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2005, 02:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 107
Default computer 'expansion' question

hello all,

total cpu noob here so if my question sounds completely lame, you know why (not that i needed to clarify).

anyhow, the situation is as follows. i have an older (purchased in '99) sony laptop (pcg-fx150k: pentium III 733, 384MB, windows 2000, etc.) that has been nothing but steady and reliable. bulletproof in fact. but i'm finding it somewhat slow for what i'm doing these days (mostly ripping my entire music collection) and the hard drive is getting a little crowded.

what options do i have with this unit as far as 'expanding' its capabilities? or am i better off buying a desktop kit and putting something together more suited to my needs? TIA

a
__________________

little a is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 02:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

Yo could do a format and clean install of the operating system to clean it up (back up all of your stuff or corse)
you coluld get a External hard drive for more storage
__________________

__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 02:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by zimon
Yo could do a format and clean install of the operating system to clean it up (back up all of your stuff or corse)
you coluld get a External hard drive for more storage
thank you for the suggestion.

yes, i thought about the external HD and erasing everything. i have three issues with that though. one, it doesn't really solve the processor speed issue (are there any options that address this issue?). two, my memory can only go up to 512 (or something like that). three, for the money of an external HD (what, like $100-150 for a decent one?) i get a good chunk of a new system. they have a couple of decent desktops selling cheap (even cheaper if i can get my hands on something without software). the real problem i think is always going to be the processor speed and memory limitation. an external HD could help though.

a
little a is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 03:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

You cant upgrade the system memory past 512mb? i allways figured you could get around a gig in laptops.... if lucky with the old ones..
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 07:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You wont be able to replace the CPU, a newer CPU draws more power and will melt with the current heatsink/

An external hard drive is a regular hard drive in an 30$ enclosure. You can buy these seperatly and their easy as hell to put together.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 07:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
You wont be able to replace the CPU, a newer CPU draws more power and will melt with the current heatsink/

An external hard drive is a regular hard drive in an 30$ enclosure. You can buy these seperatly and their easy as hell to put together.
this is true, i did it because my comp cant add hard drives to, its easy
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 09:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by charles_scott
You cant upgrade the system memory past 512mb? i allways figured you could get around a gig in laptops.... if lucky with the old ones..
that's from memory (pardon the pun) but it's been a while so i may be wrong. how can i find out about this?

a
little a is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 09:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
You wont be able to replace the CPU, a newer CPU draws more power and will melt with the current heatsink/

An external hard drive is a regular hard drive in an 30$ enclosure. You can buy these seperatly and their easy as hell to put together.
i see. if an external HD is relatively cheap, it might be worth combining with as much memory as i can fit into the thing and a reinstall (would switching to windows XP pro give me anything in terms of performance or should i stick with Win2K?).

how would i go about figuring out what hard drive would be a good match for this unit (it does have firewire and USB2.0)? i'm guessing something like 40-60 GB at least.

thanks everyone!

a
little a is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 10:29 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...145-125&depa=0
30$

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...144-102&depa=1
60$

Total price is 90$. Dont worry about getting super fast hard drives as they are limited by the USB \ Firewire Connection
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 12:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

@ Little a,

You said it was slow of late... Have you pulled any maintenance of your lappy to keep it up to speed?

Start with removing any extra autoloaders that are not absolutely needed (anti-virus, firewall, and such are needed). Click Start--> Run--> type msconfig--> click the startup tab--> uncheck everything but the essentials--> Apply--> Restart.

Uninstall programs that you no longer use or need. Use their uninstall first, but if they do not have the option, go into Control Panel--> Add/ Remove Programs and nix them.

Scan for adware/ spyware, as well as viruses. For adware/ spyware, download MS AntiSpyware (free for owners of Windows). For scanning for viruses, update your antivirus and scan, or check out http://housecall.trendmicro.com/ for a free online scan.

Defragment your hard drive. Start--> All Programs--> Accessories--> System Tools--> Disk Defragmenter. Not only will this free up some space on your hard drive, it will also increase your computer's ability to quickly locate information on your drive.

Try these out, and post back if if helps any.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.