Computer does not start - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-07-2004, 05:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 44
Default Computer does not start

I changed something in my computer's motherboard bios, the CPU Clock? from 133mhz ->250mhz, the computer restarts automatically and the screen is blank. Now everytime when I try to start the computer the moniter is just blank. Can anyone tell me if there's a way to revert back?
__________________

Shadow Rider is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 06:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Go into the BIOS and change it back. If you aren't getting any video at all, then remove the computer case, remove the CMOS battery and then put the battery back in after 30 seconds or so. My advise is, goto the Overclocking section before you try it again...

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 06:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 44
Default

There's no video at all. I would try to remove the CMOS battery, except I have no idea what it looks like I'm stupid I know.
Shadow Rider is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 06:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Ok....turn off your computer, unplug it.....after you unplug it press the power button in to release any static electricity.
Remove the case, and look for a battery on the motherboard. The battery will look similar to a battery for a camera....or a wristwatch.
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 07:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 44
Default

Ah, thank you, it works now
Shadow Rider is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 07:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451
Default

=)

Man, I didn't even know that.

These guys on here are so much help, lol.

Sometimes it helps to have PC geeks. Naw, j/k guys XD
Chubz is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 07:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

No worries. It's more fun for a person after they admit that he/she is a geek. Sometimes....that's just the way it is.



-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 07:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451
Default

lol

Ya, Im just 14 (ok, so i admit it!)

And for my age i have a pretty decent PC knowledge.

I know how to put in Video Cards, Motherboards, RAM, I know how to access the BIOS and get things to work correctly, I know how to do certain things like that, so I guess it isnt too bad for a 14 year old.

But it will probabl take a while to learn everything that you guys know!

__________________

Chubz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.