Computer Crashing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2005, 06:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default Computer Crashing

Hey guys.

I'm having a problem whenever I use games. Especially Half-Life 2. I can usually play HL2 for about 10 minutes before it crashes, and says "'The Instruction at 0x####### referenced memory at 0x#######. The memory could not be 'read'". Before comming here I googled and checked steam support and They gave me this link: http://steampowered.custhelp.com/cgi...i=&p_topview=1

I did everything involved with the issue, but to no help, the game still does this. More than half the time the crash happens when the game is loading part of a map. But sometimes it is random as well. From what I can get from google, I think this is only an nVidia problem.

I also crash in Battlefield1942, and Vietnam. Have checked for viruses and spyware. Also uses DEFRAM.

Using latest direct x, have tried latest official drivers from nvidia, and their new beta ones. Also all chipset drivers are installed correctly(latest).

Thanks for you input.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 07:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 262
Default

http://www.memtest.org/
__________________

SanToast is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 08:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Okay it is running, I hope it doesn't matter than my normal CAS(2.5), was put to 3 a little bit back when trying to fix gaming...
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 08:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Memory error, happens when i run my ram at tight timings or high speed
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 08:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

I'm running everything stock. With the exception to the recent cas latency issue.


EDIT:: Memtest went through a complete cycle successfully, and it started again, says i completed and passed one test but now its just doing it over aparently...Does it just run until i make it stop (ESC)?
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 08:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 262
Default

leave memtest running for a minimum of 3-4 hours. one cycle is far from enough...
SanToast is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 08:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

When I stop it, should I manually look at the errors and record, or when I look in windows will it have a log?
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 09:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You have to look manually.

I had no errors either, but it still crashed :/
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 09:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Well I left the room about when it was done with test run 2, and it had two recorded errors, so at the end I'll take a pic and post them, but I have no idea what to do with the errors.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 06:49 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

Try the test with only 1 stick of memory "unless you have errors right away" let it run for 3-6 hours.If that memory module passes the test mark it as good.Remove it and install the second module
and run the same test again .You may have 1 or 2 faulty modules.
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.