computer crashes - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2005, 05:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
Angry computer crashes

hi everyone, i recently purchased a computer, which i had built for me, but i am having serious trouble with it, as it freezes very often, (everyday) especially when i load a game. the game is football manager 2005 and the computer will freeze everytime i load the game. sometimes it will crash and a message will come on the monitor saying " range: out of sync" sometimes it crashes and i will just have a blank screen, sometimes it crashes and i get a blue screen with a load of writing saying something about dumping physical memory at the bottom of screen. and sometimes it just feezes, with my screen staying ok only nothing will happen or move meaning i have to restart the computer. also sometimes it will take a long time for the pc to actually restart as it can sometimes freeze when starting up. sometimes it can take ages for me to actually get the computer up and going again. i have recently formatted the computer, and reinstalled windows xp. but it hasnt helped at all, i have a firewall and i run checkes for virus and spyware and adaware everyday. but the computer is clean. therefore i am lead to believe that it is a hardware problem, only im not sure which one. i have a feeling its the graphics card, but as i said its just a feeling. i may be wrong. the graphics card is a nvidia geforce 2 ti. this problem is really starting to stress me out. sometimes it wud take an hour to freeze or crash, sometimes it will only take a few seconds. but it will nearly always do it when i load football manager. i have found it doesnt do it as often on another game, such as star wars battlefront, or halflife. but it does still freeze at some stage. i wud be extremely grateful for any replies to this post which can help me, or even for ur opinion. i can only hope that someone has come across this problem before and will be able to help me.

roc is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 06:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220

range out of sync = the program is trying to display at a resolution higher than your monitor//gfx card is capable of handling

the geforce 2ti is a very, very old and outdated card; maybe you should try something newer (i.e. borrow from friend or buy one at a local store & then return it)


I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 06:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2

thanks for ur help diablo, much appreciated. will look into it
roc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.