Computer Clock - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2005, 02:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6
Lightbulb Computer Clock

For the last 3 weeks I've been noticing that my computer clock has been running way too fast. I change the clock back to the normal time and then in like 3 minutes its about 10 minutes fast. I'd like for my time to be accurate without having to download a 3rd party clock. Any help would be great.
__________________

missxmelissa is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 02:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Any 3rd party clock will just use the same system clock as the basis to run, so that won't solve the problem unless it's some kind of wierd spyware. You might have a flat CMOS battery. I had a similar same problem and that fixed it.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 02:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 61
Default

Yer i agree. Get a new CMOS battery for your motherboard.
__________________
http://www.xero-systems.co.uk

I am a partner in the above website, and would be happy to help you configure a fully built PC on a budget. PM me or contact mark@xero-systems.co.uk
smiffjunior2005 is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 02:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Okay I'll try that. I never knew the cmos battery could make the clock run fast, I always thought it was slower. Thanks
missxmelissa is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 02:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

For me it just made it go generally wierd.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 03:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Just FYI, that you can have windows XP sync the time with the national atomic clock. It is in the date/time settings.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 03:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6
Default

I do sync it with it, but its off by a couple of minutes after a couple of seconds.
missxmelissa is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 03:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

WOW that is a big difference. I would change the CMOS battery like they said, but if it still continues I would tell your computer manufacturer that it is broken (if it is under warranty)
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 04:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Alright I'll get right on that, thank you.
__________________

missxmelissa is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.