Computer Cases and Static - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-05-2005, 04:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default Computer Cases and Static

I may have just discharged a significant amount of static onto the front part of one of the metal side panels on my case. I trust this was grounded to the power supply, even though it entered the front and not the back. Am I correct? The comp was on, BTW.
__________________

digitaloracle is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 05:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

When you touch any metal part of the case you ground yourself, so the static would of gone straight to the ground, and not damage anything.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 05:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

That's reassuring. I am extremely paranoid about damaging my equipment. Thanks.
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 05:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

^touch the powersupply before entering the machine or even a door knob. It will bring you to that level. Dont work on the machine if you are on carpet either.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 06:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 53
Default

did you know you can build up 50000v walking across a carpet i was told

get an earth strap to be safe they arent very dear
__________________
athlon 2400+
512mb ddr 400 ram
abit kv7 moby
radeon 9600XT 128 graphics
30gb wd hdd
160gb wd hdd
samsung 16x dual layer dvdrw
cambridge soundworks DTT2500 5.1 speakers
21\" sony monitor
hammers is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 02:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I work on my pc on carpet all the time. I havent encountered any proplems with static.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.