Components list for my new computer - Please give opinions - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-05-2004, 03:15 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 220
Default

Whats the difference between windows xp and windows xp 64 bit? Would it be worth getting a new motherboard and processor which supports 64bit eg AMD.
__________________

__________________
<a href="http://www.therandomgamer.com">
<img src="http://www.therandomgamer.com/images/header.jpg">
<p>Gaming Blog and Forum
</a>
Retro is offline  
Old 06-05-2004, 03:27 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 193
Default

I dunno the differences as I have not seen it. However, the 64 bit movement is starting, so I figured it would be prudent to switch to 64 if you are buying a new computer.
__________________

__________________
Before posting ask your question here:
<form method=\"get\" action=\"http://www.google.com/search\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"q\" size=\"5\" maxlength=\"255\" style=\"width:200px;\" /><input type=\"submit\" name=\"ask\" value=\"Ask\" style=\"width:40px\" />
</form>
modemide is offline  
Old 06-05-2004, 04:01 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 220
Default

Going back to your point about memory what make of RAM would you say is best? I'm looking to get DDR either 2 x 256mb or 2 x 512mb at PC3200 depending on price.
__________________
<a href="http://www.therandomgamer.com">
<img src="http://www.therandomgamer.com/images/header.jpg">
<p>Gaming Blog and Forum
</a>
Retro is offline  
Old 06-05-2004, 04:05 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to rakesh_1024
Default

Yeah,go for AMD64 if U don't want Ur system to hit the ground within the next few months.
__________________
www.tech-station.net

P4 1.6GHZ Willamette core 400MHZ FSB 256KB L2 cache
Intel 845WN Mobo
256mb SD-RAM
Nvidia Riva Tnt2 M64 G-card
40GB Seagate 5400rpm HDD
300Watt PSU
Intex Cabinet
15 LG Studioworks563N
Creative Inspire2400 2.1 speakers
16x DVD ROM
52x Samsung CD Burner
rakesh_1024 is offline  
Old 06-05-2004, 05:20 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 193
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Retro
Going back to your point about memory what make of RAM would you say is best? I'm looking to get DDR either 2 x 256mb or 2 x 512mb at PC3200 depending on price.
This ram here would work nicely I think. I like to suggest 1 GB now because I have a feeling applications are going to become much more memory intensive than they are now. I have begun noticing many mmorpg's recommending 1 GB of memory.

I'm not sure where you could get that in the UK but this kinda ram is more than enough. Especially if you have no plans of overclocking. You don't need to pay premium prices for CAS 2.0. IMO it's a waste of money for most users who don't overclock (or oc moderately).
__________________
Before posting ask your question here:
<form method=\"get\" action=\"http://www.google.com/search\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"q\" size=\"5\" maxlength=\"255\" style=\"width:200px;\" /><input type=\"submit\" name=\"ask\" value=\"Ask\" style=\"width:40px\" />
</form>
modemide is offline  
Old 06-05-2004, 07:56 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rakesh_1024
Yeah,go for AMD64 if U don't want Ur system to hit the ground within the next few months.
What relevance does that have to this situation


Whats wrong with 550watts? Its too big IMO for his system and he could save more money by going down abit.....

The RAM modemid, is a good deal...only thing I don't like about it they have no heatspreaders which is a plus if you have a see through case Check for other brands of RAM, I got 2.5 CAS GEiL RAM, DDR400 2x512mb for $190 there on newegg.com
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 06-05-2004, 10:06 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 193
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The Merlin
Quote:
Originally posted by rakesh_1024
Yeah,go for AMD64 if U don't want Ur system to hit the ground within the next few months.
What relevance does that have to this situation
To answer your first question about the revelance of 64 bit processor to the situation heres a quote from the thread starter:

Quote:
Originally posted by Retro
Whats the difference between windows xp and windows xp 64 bit? Would it be worth getting a new motherboard and processor which supports 64bit eg AMD.
Quote:
Originally posted by The Merlin
The RAM modemid, is a good deal...only thing I don't like about it they have no heatspreaders which is a plus if you have a see through case Check for other brands of RAM, I got 2.5 CAS GEiL RAM, DDR400 2x512mb for $190 there on newegg.com
You can always buy heat spreaders for your ram. It's better to buy quality ram first, and heat spreaders later.
__________________
Before posting ask your question here:
<form method=\"get\" action=\"http://www.google.com/search\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"q\" size=\"5\" maxlength=\"255\" style=\"width:200px;\" /><input type=\"submit\" name=\"ask\" value=\"Ask\" style=\"width:40px\" />
</form>
modemide is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 01:28 AM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to Mission
Default

what is good quality RAM, like aside from the PC # and its speed. like name brands? i no Kingston and Corsair are big names, but ive also seen other brands...what makes their 512 PC 3200 400 Mhz blah blah RAM better then some other company's?
Mission is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 05:27 AM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

RAM quality:
are they stable?
are the chips going to last?
are they fast? (in speed and latency)

Kingston and Corsair have RAM that is stable, fast, and will not "just die" without good reason (like too much power)

parts I reccomend:
ATI Radeon x800 pro or Radeon 9800 XT - this one comes with a Giant 3 cooler

2x512MB PC3200 Corsair or Kingston

and a Seagate drive instead of a Maxtor; Seagate are really reliable drives

you may be inerested in what I posted here
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 08:21 AM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 72
Send a message via Yahoo to raj_1024
Default

u would have tried amd64fx instead of prescott
__________________

__________________
hi everybody
raj_1024 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.