Compatiblity with 7800 gtx - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2005, 07:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5
Question Compatiblity with 7800 gtx

I'm new to these forums (this is my first post) and i'm new to building computers, so i have a question.

Will a geforce 7800 gtx be compatiblie with an asus a8n-sli deluxe motherboard?

Also, would this be better with an nforce 4 sli chipset motherboard? ( i have a feeling these may be the exact same motherboards because of thier names.)

Basically i want my computer to look like this:

Motherboard: asus a8n-sli deluxe OR alienware nforce 4 sli chipset

Graphics Card: Geforce 7800 gtx

Ram: 2, 1 gig, corsair xms ram

Processor: athlon 64 fx-55

EDIT IS HERE: I completely forgot, i have no idea about the power and cooling stuff, so can somebody give me a some tips on what to do with power?

If somebody knows a good website where i can check compatiblity please tell me too, because you guys probably dont go looking up compatibility for people or dont have that exact system. I just want to make sure my comp doesnt fry.

Also, will this computer run well with the new games like half-life 2, doom 3, and battlefield 2?
__________________

Octaz is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 08:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Yes it will run great, nForce 4 uses PCIE so you are stuck with that since the 7800 GTX only comes in PCIE form.

Let me make a suggestion though: if you plan on doing any overclocking than don't go for an Asus motherboard as DFI will easily out do it. However if you do not plan on overclocking than stay with the Asus.

2GB RAM, unless you are doing something with 3dmax or something of the sort, is really unnecessary. Gaming rigs still run 1gb and perform expceptionally.
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 08:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
JDGreen92086's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sellersburg, Indiana
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to JDGreen92086
Default

That pc will be able to run anything you throw at it at the highest setting. I'm almost sure somebody will tell you to get a DFI Lan Party Ultra-D Sli. I'm nearly sure they will also tell you to get 1 gb of ram instead of 2.

Edit: Yup, and he posted while I was typing, lol.
__________________
Newbie since 2005.
JDGreen92086 is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 08:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Since i'm new to the computer thing, i'm a little confused. GameGURU says that i am stuck with the nforce motherboard since its the only one that supports the 7800.

But then you later say dfi (whats dfi?) will easily outdo asus (but i cant run it with a 7800 anyway) so stay with asus if i dont overclock (but i cant run my graphics card) what?

thanks for the tip about 1 gig, i thought it was like recommened 2 or something

thanks for your advice

I forgot to post this but i edited it, does anybody know what power and cooling stuff I should get for this?
Octaz is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 08:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Asus and DFI are both motherboard manufacturers. So are Abit, Gigabyte etc.

nForce 4, 3 Ultra, 3, 2 etc. are Chipsets on the motherboard. Each motherboard has one. VIA is also a chipset.

The nForce 4 is the chipset that the PICE boards use. The nForce 3 Ultra is the chipset AGP boards use.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136151


this motherboard uses SLi just like the Asus does.

I guess since you are new to computers you wont be overclocking so stick with the Asus. Overclocking is a little advance and has nothing to do with wether or not the graphics card is compatible with the motherboard etc.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 08:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5
Default

is PICE and PCIE the same the thing? sorry to be a spelling cop

and so asus, dfi, and nforce are still both compatible with the 7800 gtx along with the rest of the system?
Octaz is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 08:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Yes they are compatible, get what you originally wanted to purchase. I meant PCIE, I spelled it wrong .

Also, as far as the cooling you will want some custom fans for the CPU. It would be best if you had a friend to talk to about this stuff because it can get mis-read and confused over the internet. However as long as you need help I will continue to help
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 08:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5
Default

thanks (sorrry for the one word post (so i made it longer with these parenthisis or whatever these are called))

so any fan thats powerful is fine right? i dont need to put them in any specfic spot of the pc?

and with power



I can just buy any kind of power supply as long as its powerful right?
Octaz is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 09:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Octaz
I can just buy any kind of power supply as long as its powerful right?
No. You don't want to get a no-name brand or a case PSU. Keep in mind that PSUs are often the part that can destroy your computer. If you get a lousy power supply, you could end up buying you parts multiple times.

I would strongly suggest the OCZ Powerstream 520w. It is one of the best PSUs out there if not the best. It also comes in a 600w version, but you honestly would not need that.
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 09:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

You have to make sure that it is a 24 pin connector, also the fans go in certain spots. When installing the CPU fan, it is a relativley difficult thing to do if you don't have experience so be careful about that.
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.