Compatability: IBM and Dell - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2005, 10:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default Compatability: IBM and Dell

So I just got this new Dell laptop, nothing special, but it is just for school to take notes and stuff. however, it only has 256mb RAM, and it shows! so i have this IBM Thinkpad, which has the same type of DDR in it. I know that sometimes companies like that are anal and only support proprietary stuff, I was wondering if anyone knew of such a thing between Dell and/or IBM. Think it would work to take the 256 out of the IBM and slap it in the Dell for 512? The Dell has one "User Accessible", as they call it, RAM slot, so I could throw it in that.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 10:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

It should work. Try it. the worst that can happen is the PC will not boot.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 11:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Yeah, that is true, that is what I was saying to myself too. But I talked with a guy at my work, and he said it wouldnt work. Those companies, thats what they do. But he told me to go to Crucial, who supplies memory to Dell, and they will hook me up with the right stuff.

256MB PC2700 SoDIMM (the exact model in my Dell) for $34 w/ free shippping. Damn good price if you ask me. I was looking at $50 or $60 on Newegg and ZZF.

What Crucial does is they buy in MASSIVE bulk from bigger manufactreres (Kingston, Corsair, etc...) and they simply repackage them and sell them with their name on it at a lower price. This is completely legal, and is quite a common practice in industries. Kingston dosent care, what they arent selling to customers, they are selling to Crucial and making plenty!
Him is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 11:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Seriously, dude, all you can do is stick it in and see what happens. Like SHAWN said, if it doesn't work, you'll know right away.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 11:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Check newegg before you buy from crucial. a 256 DDR266 stick on crucial.com was $37 plus $3 tax plus $3 shipping. Newegg was $27 plus $3 shipping.

I am pretty sure it will work providing that they have a speed they can both run at and the pin size fits in the laptop. You should be good if so.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 11:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Ahh yes, so it was only $28 at newegg. My entire order came out to $34 (I dont get charged tax on online orders in Mass, kinda strange, I think they are looking to change that) so it would come out to $31. Me, $3 difference, not that much.
Him is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 11:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

And for 3$ it's guartneed compatable

I thought crucial was making alot of their own memory though..
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 11:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

That is correct, $3 for knowing it is the EXACT memory I need. Guaranteed! I've paid alot more money for something because I knew that it was EXACTLY what I needed and wasnt the wrong thing. People wonder why I will spend the extra money, and i tell them that, and it shuts them right up.

Crucial may be making alot of their own now, not sure. This is what I heard from him, and they always buy their memory from Crucial and not Dell because Dell takes the already relabeled Crucial memory and re-relabels it with their label and kicks the price in the ***.
__________________

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.