compatability - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2004, 03:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 50
Default compatability

im getting this processor:

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...116-171&depa=0

what chipset does it run on? i need suggestions (and links) on what motherboard i should use to accompany it!

here's what i'm looking at so far:

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...128-183&depa=0

are they compatible?

also, i have a newb question! will the motherboard come with a BIOS pre-installed, or do i have to buy it seperately?
__________________

beau_zo_brehm is offline  
Old 06-18-2004, 04:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Thats not bad, and the BIOS comes with the motherboard, you don't have to buy it.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 06-18-2004, 04:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to rakesh_1024
Default

The mobo says that it is Prescott Ready hence it is compatible.

U don't have to worry as every mobo will come with a BIOS pre-installed.

Btw, I wouldn't go for Intel unless I do a lot of Video editin stuff.
I would prefer AMD Athlon.

One more thing, Prescott processors dissipate a lot of heat.
__________________
www.tech-station.net

P4 1.6GHZ Willamette core 400MHZ FSB 256KB L2 cache
Intel 845WN Mobo
256mb SD-RAM
Nvidia Riva Tnt2 M64 G-card
40GB Seagate 5400rpm HDD
300Watt PSU
Intex Cabinet
15 LG Studioworks563N
Creative Inspire2400 2.1 speakers
16x DVD ROM
52x Samsung CD Burner
rakesh_1024 is offline  
Old 06-18-2004, 04:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rakesh_1024
The mobo says that it is Prescott Ready hence it is compatible.

U don't have to worry as every mobo will come with a BIOS pre-installed.

Btw, I wouldn't go for Intel unless I do a lot of Video editin stuff.
I would prefer AMD Athlon.

One more thing, Prescott processors dissipate a lot of heat.
i am aware of everything u said in the last 2 paragraphs, its just my personal preference.

new question, the motherboard will come with a BIOS, but what are the odds it overclocking compatable? If i plan on overclocking should i purchase a new BIOS?
beau_zo_brehm is offline  
Old 06-18-2004, 04:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 87
Default

I dont think you need to worry about purchasing a BIOS.

"It's a good solid board with lots of standard features for a good price. I think most people already discribed the pros. So here're what don't like about it. I was suprised to see the vCore adjustment jumps from 1.6v to 1.68v directly. This really affects the overclocking capability of my P4 2.8c, since I really like it to run at 1.65v. The EasyTune4 software is a joke. It crashes every time I want to overclock, even just for a little bit. When I set the vCore to 1.68v in BIOS, EasyTune reports 1.75v, while CPU-Z, 1.7125v which mean the actual vCore is at least 0.03v above setting. Also the BIOS doesn't allow me to enable PAT (unlike some other Giga i875P boards which call it MIB.) According to Intel, that's a 5-7% performance improvement. Hopefully they will fix it later.
" -> Review from newegg

Some complaints make it seem as though it isnt very easy to overclock. See what some other motherboards have to offer. Asus, MSI, ABit... Anyone else?
__________________
Current Computer Specs
Athlon XP 2200+ (266 FSB)
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe
1GB Corsair PC2700 C2 Pro Series (2x512)
Thermaltake 11+ HSF
Asus GeForce 4 Ti4600 128mb
420 Antec TruePower
4x Plextor DVDRW
Soundblaster Live 5.1!
120gb Maxtor SATA 7200rpm
60gb Maxtor ATA/133 7200rpm

Currently building a new one (ETA July/August)
archon45 is offline  
Old 06-18-2004, 04:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 87
Default

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...131-492&depa=0

Prescott Ready
__________________
Current Computer Specs
Athlon XP 2200+ (266 FSB)
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe
1GB Corsair PC2700 C2 Pro Series (2x512)
Thermaltake 11+ HSF
Asus GeForce 4 Ti4600 128mb
420 Antec TruePower
4x Plextor DVDRW
Soundblaster Live 5.1!
120gb Maxtor SATA 7200rpm
60gb Maxtor ATA/133 7200rpm

Currently building a new one (ETA July/August)
archon45 is offline  
Old 06-18-2004, 04:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to rakesh_1024
Default

Well, all Gigabyte mobos have support for overclockin.
No need to purchase new BIOS.
Bios updates are just like ur driver updates.
They are freely available in the manufacturer's website.
But u have to b careful while updatin ur BIOS.
One mistake and ur mobo is gone.
I have not updated my BIOS even once for my 2year old PC.
__________________
www.tech-station.net

P4 1.6GHZ Willamette core 400MHZ FSB 256KB L2 cache
Intel 845WN Mobo
256mb SD-RAM
Nvidia Riva Tnt2 M64 G-card
40GB Seagate 5400rpm HDD
300Watt PSU
Intex Cabinet
15 LG Studioworks563N
Creative Inspire2400 2.1 speakers
16x DVD ROM
52x Samsung CD Burner
rakesh_1024 is offline  
Old 06-18-2004, 04:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by archon45
I dont think you need to worry about purchasing a BIOS.

"It's a good solid board with lots of standard features for a good price. I think most people already discribed the pros. So here're what don't like about it. I was suprised to see the vCore adjustment jumps from 1.6v to 1.68v directly. This really affects the overclocking capability of my P4 2.8c, since I really like it to run at 1.65v. The EasyTune4 software is a joke. It crashes every time I want to overclock, even just for a little bit. When I set the vCore to 1.68v in BIOS, EasyTune reports 1.75v, while CPU-Z, 1.7125v which mean the actual vCore is at least 0.03v above setting. Also the BIOS doesn't allow me to enable PAT (unlike some other Giga i875P boards which call it MIB.) According to Intel, that's a 5-7% performance improvement. Hopefully they will fix it later.
" -> Review from newegg

Some complaints make it seem as though it isnt very easy to overclock. See what some other motherboards have to offer. Asus, MSI, ABit... Anyone else?
hmmm...... im still gonna stick with the one i have already chosen until someone shows me somethin better for the same price...

edit: damn your good, u showed me somethin better before i even submitted the post!!!
beau_zo_brehm is offline  
Old 06-18-2004, 04:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by archon45
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...131-492&depa=0

Prescott Ready
better, and cheaper than the one i originally was looking at! the only thing that isn't better is that it only has 4 RAM slots compared to the others 6, but who the hell needs 6 slots n e ways?
__________________

beau_zo_brehm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.