Comparison of V.90 modem and an ADSL modem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2005, 06:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Default Comparison of V.90 modem and an ADSL modem

Can anyone tell me the difference between a V.90 and ADSL specifications, I keep searching and all I get are prices.
__________________

Death is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 07:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

V.90 Dial up models max out at 56k
ADSL models max out at 75000k ish

Basicly, one is Dial Up, one is High Speed.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 10:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks, is there anything else? I sorta need it for a 10 fricking page report, heh
Death is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 10:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

www.howstuffworks.com will give you a good start on info for both.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 01:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

Yeah, plus DSL tottally beats dial-up anyday.
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 03:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Default

yeh all those I know...anything else that I can know of? Like applications, cost, stuff the high speed can't do and dial up can or vice versa....I need to write a whole lot
Death is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 09:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 42
Default

how bout you go do your own damn assignment
CorruptAssassin is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 09:31 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CorruptAssassin
how bout you go do your own damn assignment
loll. Seriously dude, I don't think any of us want to write a "10 page" report for you. The technological differences are straightforward (used frequency bands and such), the applications - it's like comparing Windows 3.1 to XP; one is totally superior to the other, cost - depends on who you get it from, but DSL is typically more expensive with good reason, etc. etc.
Chankama is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 11:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Default

lol okok....thanks for all your help
__________________

Death is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.