Comparing Dell XPS with my System - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2006, 09:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 95
Default Comparing Dell XPS with my System

How does a Dell XPS dual 2.1ghz machine with 2gb ram and a 7800gtx compare with my x2 4400+ amd machine with 2gb ram and a 7900gtx.

I'm lost comparing the ghz etc. Is my machine more powerful? I know the graphics card is, and the ram is equal but what about the cpu?

Cheers
Cubby
__________________

__________________
Asus A8N SLI Deluxe // AMD64 X2 4400+ Toledo // Antec True Power 2.0 550w // Tt Tsunami Case (Silver) // 2GB Nanya DDR400 // Leadtek Geforce 7900GTX 512mb // X2 WD 320GB SATA HDD // Pioneer DVR111D // Genuine Windows Vista Home Premium //
cub1971 is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 10:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Well, first of all, your PC is much better quality. Dell uses the cheapest parts they can find.

Your AMD processor is much better than the Intel, but if it's a Core Duo on the Dell, it might have a little advantage...
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 11:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 95
Default

Thanks for that talldude. I think the XPS I was thinking of does have a Core Duo.
__________________
Asus A8N SLI Deluxe // AMD64 X2 4400+ Toledo // Antec True Power 2.0 550w // Tt Tsunami Case (Silver) // 2GB Nanya DDR400 // Leadtek Geforce 7900GTX 512mb // X2 WD 320GB SATA HDD // Pioneer DVR111D // Genuine Windows Vista Home Premium //
cub1971 is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 11:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

The Core Duo isn't as powerful as your system.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 11:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 95
Default

Ahh no worries I'll stay with my system. Cheers for that.

The XPS was a Core Duo T2600.
__________________
Asus A8N SLI Deluxe // AMD64 X2 4400+ Toledo // Antec True Power 2.0 550w // Tt Tsunami Case (Silver) // 2GB Nanya DDR400 // Leadtek Geforce 7900GTX 512mb // X2 WD 320GB SATA HDD // Pioneer DVR111D // Genuine Windows Vista Home Premium //
cub1971 is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 11:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Dell XPS's are good quality compared to the Dimensions, but not worth your PC that you built yourself.

A robot builds Dell's, who's going to trust a robot!!?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 05:42 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Core Duo is not the same as Core 2 Duo.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 08:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

he he he, my Acer is powerful than your Dell XPS Ha Ha Ha Ha - No Offence, just self satisfaction (i'm not a gamer). your PC is definatly powerful.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 08:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 95
Default

Dude, I don't have an XPS I only have my PC.
__________________
Asus A8N SLI Deluxe // AMD64 X2 4400+ Toledo // Antec True Power 2.0 550w // Tt Tsunami Case (Silver) // 2GB Nanya DDR400 // Leadtek Geforce 7900GTX 512mb // X2 WD 320GB SATA HDD // Pioneer DVR111D // Genuine Windows Vista Home Premium //
cub1971 is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 11:24 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

He's talking about the PC listed in his signature.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.