Compaq Motherboard - Impossible to Spec! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-25-2006, 12:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default Compaq Motherboard - Impossible to Spec!

Hi,
I have two computers which I can't get the spec of their motherboard. Both are HP/Compaq.

One is:
Hewlett-Packard
085Ch

Second is:
Compaq
0804h

I've been scouring the web to get any specs on those mobos but it seems so usless :-\

All I want to know is if I can instal DDR2 on those babies and what max mhz they support and it all seems so hard

thx in advance
__________________

Jarlaxle is offline  
Old 06-25-2006, 03:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Well you could look inside your PCs and look for a model number or name printed on the motherboard. You could also inspect the RAM modules to find out.

Or you could simply download Everest Home Edition:

http://www.majorgeeks.com/download.php?det=4181

It will bring up the complete specs of your PC.

If your system is at least a year old or more, or has an AMD processor, there's a high chance that they don't support DDR2.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-25-2006, 05:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Lol, I was halfway installing everset when it hit me...
I don't have the computers near me "so why the **** am I installing it on my computer!"

I did get the mobo's models from CPU-Z when I last checked the puters and it's
One is:
Hewlett-Packard
085Ch

Second is:
Compaq
0804h

odd enough nothing on compaq website on any of those models
and it's intel processor... so any difference on the ddr2?
Jarlaxle is offline  
Old 06-25-2006, 08:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jarlaxle
Lol, I was halfway installing everset when it hit me...
I don't have the computers near me "so why the **** am I installing it on my computer!"
???


if it is intel pentium 4, then it is very likely to be DDR2
joshd is offline  
Old 06-25-2006, 08:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Cool, and should I go for a safe 400mhz?
Jarlaxle is offline  
Old 06-25-2006, 08:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

well have you installed everest and checked for certain yet? i don't understand what is going on with that.
joshd is offline  
Old 06-25-2006, 11:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by joshd
???


if it is intel pentium 4, then it is very likely to be DDR2
Depends on how old the thing is though. If its 2 years old, don't even think that its DDR 2.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 06-25-2006, 11:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

Get Belarc Advisor. That'll tell u everything about your computer.
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 11:51 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Thank you all.
urves :P
__________________

Jarlaxle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.