'Compaq' (HP) Presario B3800 Laptop Series - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2005, 08:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 296
Send a message via AIM to Private_Shon Send a message via Yahoo to Private_Shon
Angry 'Compaq' (HP) Presario B3800 Laptop Series

Any1 use the Presario B3800 Series?
The USB ports all screwed up and are sending them to get repaired but that will take years. I just bought the laptop a couple (okay maybe 4) months ago. Why are they screwing up.
Also any1 with this laptop what do u think of it?
And i don't get the GhZ thing. If a 1.7GhZ Pentium M VS 1.7 GhZ Pentium 4. Which would be better?

Specs of Presario B3820:

Pentium M: 1.7GhZ
ATI Radeon 9700 Mobility (128MB)
60GB HDD
1GB Dual-Channel Ram
Wi-Fi
Enthernet LAN
DVD-Burner, CD-Burner

What do u think of Compaq? (HP)
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6700
ASUS 680i Striker
4GB G.Skill DDRII-800
XFX 8800GTX OC
2X 750GB Seagate Barracuda
Thermaltake Toughpower 700W
21\" LCD Samsung Syncmaster
Antec Nine-Hundred
Private_Shon is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 11:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Pentium M use less power, and are a bit slower than a Pentium 4. I did have the same problem with my laptop, made from the same company, Compaq EVO n1000c. I just rebuilt it, and everything worked fine.
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 03:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Pentium M use less power, and are a bit slower than a Pentium 4
I thought all things equal (1.7 vs 1.7) the M was faster than the P4. but I am not sure.

The M is interesting how it works though to consume less power. It basically changes clock speed as needed. A 1.7GHz P4 will always run at 1.7GHz. An M on the other hand, will underclock its self as low as like 200MHz when there is little CPU power needed.

I have a Compaq nc6000 that I use for work. It has been solid for about a year now. From what I have seen in general at my office they are pretty good overall. That sounds like a pretty decent laptop you have. Definately worth getting those ports fixed.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 02:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 296
Send a message via AIM to Private_Shon Send a message via Yahoo to Private_Shon
Default

Yeah, Can't Play Counter-Strike Source without a mouse. Annoying Touchpad!
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6700
ASUS 680i Striker
4GB G.Skill DDRII-800
XFX 8800GTX OC
2X 750GB Seagate Barracuda
Thermaltake Toughpower 700W
21\" LCD Samsung Syncmaster
Antec Nine-Hundred
Private_Shon is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 12:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
Angry I have one

I Have a B3820AP, It has the same usb problems it also has a problem with the screen blinking occasionally. About the USB issue, i had it repaired under warranty and it worked for a while and then died again, they actually replaced the motherboard. I am about ready to throw the **** thing.
Murray is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 12:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 296
Send a message via AIM to Private_Shon Send a message via Yahoo to Private_Shon
Default

I don't think when it flickers it acually turns the monitor off, it just turns the backlight off, so its not bright and its basically black yeah it does the same thing if you press the little button above the power button. it does the same thing (unless you have the setting: if i close my laptop will do: hibernate or stand-by)

USB thing didn't happen to me anymore after they fixed it. they replaced the mobo too. but i think it was a dodgy mouse i got for free with something.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6700
ASUS 680i Striker
4GB G.Skill DDRII-800
XFX 8800GTX OC
2X 750GB Seagate Barracuda
Thermaltake Toughpower 700W
21\" LCD Samsung Syncmaster
Antec Nine-Hundred
Private_Shon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.