compaq/Athlon question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2004, 05:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 36
Default compaq/Athlon question

Hello I just bought a compaq presario with the athlon 2800+ processor. I also got this game called mysterious journey 2. It's sort of like myst only in real time instead of point and click. Any way the game runs realy jerky with a crappy frame rate with the resolution turned up to the highest level. It only runs half way decent with the resolution on the lowest setting. I thought that with a 2.1 gig or whatever the athlon is, this game should run real smooth. Is there something wrong with the computer or what? Thanks very much for replying. Dale t.
__________________

kileak is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 06:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter
Default

if ur gfx card sucks It doesnt matter how fast ur comp is
__________________

__________________
YourPrinter is offline  
Old 04-19-2004, 12:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 83
Default

Ditto the above. You need a good graphics card. Compaq is not well known for installing current or top of the line or even midrange video cards. Hopefully yours didn't come with the video controller built into the motherboard. Sometimes they can't be disabled to install a new video card, no matter what Compaq says.
Fragino is offline  
Old 04-19-2004, 01:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451
Default

Yup, it's most definetely the video card.

It must not be good enough........to check what it is, R-CLICK on the desktop, click SETTINGS, and click the DISPLAY tab. It should tell you the name of the card under that.
Chubz is offline  
Old 04-19-2004, 12:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

On most Compaq and HP computers the video card is intergated on the motherboard and it only has 64MBs of memory at that. I would recommend buying a real good grafix card and the problems should go away. You might want to get rid of all the bloatware Compaq installs on their computers to help with performance.
__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 04-19-2004, 01:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Check n' see if ur mobo has an AGP slot.... if so ..Add an GFX cad ...n' see how ur system performs then ..
__________________

__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.