Compaq Armada 1700 BIOS (aka Diaganotics Partition) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2004, 03:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Compaq Armada 1700 BIOS (aka Diaganotics Partition)

Compaq Armada 1700 have part of thier BIOS on the hard drive in this thing called a "Diaganotics Partition".

Stoopid End User disides that he wants to upgrade the OS, and being the "know-it-all" that he is, he disided to completely F-disk the hard drive (included the Diaganotics Partition).

Should be a simple problem to fix, provided that HP/Compaq has a correct files on their website (which they don't).

Now I have had quite a few phone calls with the "technical support" down at HP/Compaq which out to much luck, but with plenty of stupity instead. And in the end, I think the guys down at HP just want to brush it under the carpet as a hardware fault which is no longer covered by warranty.


Right now, I need to the get the Diagnotic Partition onto this computer. I need to get the file(s) will allow me to do this.
It should be some file that creates a bootable disk that will need create the Dianogic Partition.

Does any one have such a file at works (not the ones that are currently posted the HP website). At this stage, I really could not care which Windows OS I put on to this notebook.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 01-19-2004, 07:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

can you order a hard sik for that notebook from compaq? not too many people would have the files you need. plus you may have to recreate the partition in a certian way.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 01-20-2004, 07:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

a client of mine managed to give me is recovery CD for is Compaq Armada 1750.

With a bit of screwwing around, I was able to get the Diagnostic Partition back on...... only to find out the the hard drive is ruined with bad sectors.

This does explain why the notebook was working slow in the first place.

Now i just need to source a small hard drive.
Until then..... CASE CLOSED!!!
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.