Compaq 5000 will not boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2003, 11:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3
Default Compaq 5000 will not boot

I purchased a Compaq 5wv232/ 5000-series/ 700mhz amd/ 64 MB ram for $20.00. I had attempted to troubleshoot for co-worker previously with no luck. The cd-rom had died, the computer would lock up after 2-3 hours of use, and would not reboot for a day or so. Power works, Can hear hard drive start, then nothing. Just sits there. No sounds from hard drive, no monitor, nothing. I don't think I can get into bios. I haven't had it crash on me (since I purchased) to find out. Will try when crashes again, don’t see that helping though. When I was working on the first time I replaced the cd-rom, flashed the bios, and took the battery out and reinstalled it. The fact that the cd-rom was dead led me to believe that the power supply was about to go and take everything with it one piece at a time as it died. Took apart and inspected, could not find any evidence of impending failure. Everything looked clean, no dark spot or swelled capacitors. I was able to reproduce problem by taking ram out and rebooting. Don’t have any comparable ram right now to test after next crash. Anybody care to speculate? Don’t really want to waste money on ram if it’s possibly the mother board, hard drive, or something else.

Dick_CheneyXXX is offline  
Old 11-15-2003, 10:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 549

so as soon as you turn this machine on there is nothing on the moniter before the os loads?? no bios info??

This is Linux country. If you listen carefully, you can hear Windows reboot...
<a href=\"\"> How to ask questions the smart way.</a>
<a href=\"\"> Help stop the PIRATE Act.</a>

chrönik04 is offline  
Old 11-15-2003, 01:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3

Dick_CheneyXXX is offline  
Old 11-15-2003, 01:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934

anythings possible
but a 700 mghz computers not that bad for office/netsurfing
if thats what u intended to use it for
most likely its ram or motherboard
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.