Compadability - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2004, 05:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 29
Default Compadability

Srry if this is in the wrong area Im new and not quite sure.

Im lookin 2 update my CPU but I'm not sure of the different products compadability with each other. If I could just type the list of stuff I wanna get out and you tell me if it all compadable that would be great!

heres the list

- Intel P4 2.8Ghz (800mhz) /or a/ AMD -Athlon XP 2800+
- Abit NF7-S (Motherboard)
- 512 MB Corsair PC-3200 (RAM)
- 120 GB Seagate serial ATA (harddrive)
- Zalman 7000A-CU (Fan)
- Antec Lanboy (Tower w/ Powersuply)

thats wat I want to get.

I would also Like to know if all this will run directX 9 (I have a Geforce 4 ((256 mb) looking to upgrade))

does any 1 know where I can get DirectX 9?

Thx El_Smee
__________________

El_Smee is offline  
Old 01-31-2004, 06:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

Here is a nice house for your 2.8c

http://maximumpc.pricegrabber.com/se...0d91096e0551e0

Youll need duel DDR for 800 FSB.

You can get Directx 9b here http://www.microsoft.com/windows/dir...ds/default.htm
__________________

Deadguy is offline  
Old 01-31-2004, 07:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 29
Default

as I see it know ill have to either buy

the pentium 4 2.8 and the IC7-G
or the
Athlon XP 2800+ with the NF7-S

buy buying the athlon set up im saveing $170 AUD

Is there realy much difference between the Athlon and Intel? If so what is it?
El_Smee is offline  
Old 01-31-2004, 08:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

your empty pockets mostly.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 01-31-2004, 08:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

2 differnt boards.Pent supports 2.0 USB and Gig lan.Athlon dosent.Athlon needs special attention to cooling.Pent Dosent.

How many old Athlon's you see coming here for updating.There is no such thing as an old Athon.Only burned up ones and waiting to burn up.

Which is a better preformer. You tell me.


http://www.tomshardware.com/cpu/2003...mparison_table
http://www.tomshardware.com/cpu/2003...charts-30.html
http://www.tomshardware.com/cpu/2003...charts-22.html
Deadguy is offline  
Old 01-31-2004, 09:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

P4's have slightly better performance, AMD's are cheaper, but they need better cooling, and like said above don't support gigabit LAN or USB 2.
motherboards I reccomend:
Asus
P4P800 (for P4)
A7N8X (for AMD)

and for DDR RAM, it is actually faster if you have doubles, so 2 256MB sticks will be faster than 1 512MB stick
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-31-2004, 09:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 205
Default

Yes, if you are putting the 2 sticks into a Dual Channel DDR motherboard. If you want a DX9 video card, the cheapest good one is the FX5600. I recommend the 9600XT for games, or a 9700 Pro if you really want the best framerate.
__________________
Shuttle XPC SB61G2
P4 2.8 800 Mhz FSB
1024 Dual channel DDR400
ATI AIW 9700 Pro
120 GB Maxtor SATA
Lite-On 411S DVD+-R/RW
Logitech Elite Duo wireless KB/Mouse
nvalhalla is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 02:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 29
Default

with cooling im worryed the Zalman wont fit on the motherboard Coss i cant see any place to fit a fan to the NF7-S

Will the beafy zalman be enough
http://www.bigfootcomputers.com/Merc...000acu_big.jpg

I might go with is setup

- Intel P4 2.8Ghz (800mhz)
- Abit IC7-G(Motherboard)
- 512 MB Corsair PC-3200 (RAM)
- 120 GB Seagate serial ATA (harddrive)
- Zalman 7000A-CU (Fan)
- Antec Lanboy (Tower w/ Powersuply)


question about the ram

2x 256MB Corsair Value Select PC-3200 DDR RAM
or
1x 512 MB Corsair PC-3200
El_Smee is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 09:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 205
Default

Two sticks! You can run them in dual channel for a MAJOR performance increase.
__________________
Shuttle XPC SB61G2
P4 2.8 800 Mhz FSB
1024 Dual channel DDR400
ATI AIW 9700 Pro
120 GB Maxtor SATA
Lite-On 411S DVD+-R/RW
Logitech Elite Duo wireless KB/Mouse
nvalhalla is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 06:26 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 29
Default

when you say major?
__________________

El_Smee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.