Compact Discs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2006, 05:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Compact Discs

Compact Discs are very unrealiable and they get scratched easily. It seems that manufacturers are not aware of this because they will keep using the crappy format. They are developing blu-ray and HD-DVD, again using discs! At least blu-rays will also be offered in a cartridge, but still.

Besides that, CD's are very big, unhandy, noisy and take long to insert in a CD-ROM drive.

I recently imaged my entire CD-ROM collection to my hard disks and multiple CD's were unreadable. Even 2 official discs, not burned myself!

I have lost some important software due to CD failure. Unreadable. CRC errors... I never lost any data because of HDD failure. It happend twice, but I always had time to backup. At least HDD's mostly die slowly.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 05:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

It also seems you have to use CD's from time to time to keep them working. I have this with my XP disc, burned it myself. It's a very old disc and still works perfectly. I store it at the same place I store all other discs and the others are getting failures. Maybe just a coincidence?
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 08:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I hardly have any problems with CD's. where do you keep your CD's?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 08:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

In the box they come with. I stored them in a closet and some on my desk.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 10:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

i do agree with you that cd's are bulky. i have a spindle of unused mini-cd's, but my cd burner doesnt work with them, but they are a nice alternative to regular bulky cd's.
talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.