Comp won't power up. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2005, 07:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 106
Default Comp won't power up.

Today I added a heatsink onto my CPU. Now it won't even power up at all Any ideas what could of happened?? I'm positive all the wires are still in the correct place.
__________________

Shrimp is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 07:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 241
Default

did you possibly slip with anything while removing the old one and/or when adding the new one?
__________________

__________________
If all you can see is Darkness Within the Light, You are blind to this world.
http://img25.exs.cx/img25/7382/blade4ls.gifhttp://img222.exs.cx/img222/1324/z1irvineshksvan6uv.gif
ShadowFalls is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 07:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 106
Default

I'm not sure what you mean. Can you please explain further?
Shrimp is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 07:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 241
Default

were you using anything to help you clip the heatsink on?
__________________
If all you can see is Darkness Within the Light, You are blind to this world.
http://img25.exs.cx/img25/7382/blade4ls.gifhttp://img222.exs.cx/img222/1324/z1irvineshksvan6uv.gif
ShadowFalls is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 07:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 106
Default

They supplied these 2 metal thingies that helped seat the heatsink properly. It required quite a lot of force though.
Shrimp is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 08:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 241
Default

well when you removed the old one and added the new one, I was wondered if you used a screwdriver which might have possibly slipped and hit the motherboard
__________________
If all you can see is Darkness Within the Light, You are blind to this world.
http://img25.exs.cx/img25/7382/blade4ls.gifhttp://img222.exs.cx/img222/1324/z1irvineshksvan6uv.gif
ShadowFalls is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 08:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

If you didnt take the motherboard out and set it on a hard surface with a piece of leather or wood under it then chances are you cracked the board it self.....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 08:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 106
Default

I didn't hear a crack.
Shrimp is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 01:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

You could've seated the heatsink backwards, which would explain why it took so much force.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 01:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

You may not have heard a crack, but the integrated wires on the back could have split..... Just try taking it out and look to see if theres any possible damage....
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.