A comp problem PLEASE HELP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2004, 10:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 37
Default A comp problem PLEASE HELP

I am having this problem and its starting to get to me. i have built several computers and never had this happen to me. I have everything put together and then i tur nit on and it turns on for 2 seconds and then shuts of. Dose anyone know whats wrong?

Thanks

CON
__________________

stumpy is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 10:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

could be faulty or under powered PSU, the memory or CPU may need reseating, may have bent CPU pins, also try and disconnect everything unessential (as in floppy, cdrom, etc). Just CPU, mem, vid and HDD.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 10:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

that happened to me when i first built my comp. Now i have no idea why this worked but it did: I turned the FSB jumper settings on the board down to 100Mhz (instead of the 166 needed for my chip) and it loaded perfectly. then i reset and turned it back up to 166 and its worked perfectly ever since.

hope that helps
sithspawn is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 01:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 92
Default

am sure killians is on the right path.
Senseis is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 12:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

i had mine turn off like that cuz I had my cpu fan plugged in to the wrong plug on the mobo
jaksback is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 01:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to ProLific
Default

yea, could be your fan or, if your heat sink is impropery seated. certain mobos will shut off after 3 seconds if heat sink isnt seated properly.
ProLific is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 10:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default

probably a heat issue. your mobo is sensing temps that would damage your cpu and shutting off to keep that from happening.
__________________

__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.