Comp Prob. Happened out of Blue... MOBO? COOLING? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2005, 10:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default Comp Prob. Happened out of Blue... MOBO? COOLING?

Okay guys, I need some input computer used to run great until I screwed something up. Well at least I don't know if it was me or not. I put in a new 512mb pc2700 ram whether this has to do with it or not I don't know. Anyway, computer used to run fine run great, Now is I like watcha dvd for like 5 min, or start to play a game. Not even 30 seconds my comp will just freeze. Like lock up, unrecoverable only to get it off is hard shut down then turn back on but same thing happens. I can't do anything. And I used to run WoW and Doom3 and HL2 and Guild and FarCry easily no prob @ all. And now it just stopped I don't know if this has to do with a HD MOBO or Cooling or what or what i've reformmated 3 times and checked all my connections inside and out everything is good. Any suggestions?

-Luke
__________________

__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 10:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

did u try to boot without the new ram in.
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 10:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default

no, i havent... ill try it though if u really think it will matter i jsut dont want to tear in to all that shti again,,, and put in a 256.
__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 10:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

If your new RAM is PC 2700, and the old stuff is PC 3200 or something like that, then one RAM might be trying to run at the other RAM's timings. When getting more RAM, you should really stay with the company that you have so that the timings can be the same and everything will be compatible. What is your first stick of RAM? Put CPU-Z on that bad mammer jammer and tell us what the timings should be for each stick of RAM according to the SPD page.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 10:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default

right now i just have the 512 in.... the 256 is out... and the 512 is pc2700 and the 256 was pc2100..... and ill get cpu-z and run it so gimme some mins....
__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.